Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    Question

    I need to know how many amps (max) an old furnace blower might pull.

    I kept the blower from my 25 yr old carrier updraft gas furnace and now want to use it in my shop as an exhaust fan.

    I want to order a 2 pole 4-way switch to control it, but have no clue - (and no way to measure) how many amps it draws at startup.

    Wudn't be all that bad if nobody knows - then i could go buy that amp clamp i always wanted for my Fluke!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,894
    Cant you just look at the rating label on the motor that you kept?
    " Kill a Commie for Mommy! "

    - Colonel David Hackworth (1930-2005), Korean War Vet

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    blower specs II

    the housing ust has a clean spot where a label used to be - i stuk an inspection mirror inside the squirrel cage and didn't see anything on the motor itself

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,894
    What was the model of the furnace?
    " Kill a Commie for Mommy! "

    - Colonel David Hackworth (1930-2005), Korean War Vet

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    furnace model

    we will never know - i replaced it with a high efficency unit about 5 years ago - well - maybethere is a way - i could poll the neighbors and see if any of them still have the orig unit - i hope not - i think it must have been about 50% efficient - our subdivision was built btwn 76-78 -



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    the answer is....

    9.6 amps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event