Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    I am a 3rd month hvac student and in our class we vent and have mistakes in a room with out a shop fan how bad to my health is breathing in r22 or other refrigerants the class has about 15 students and about 5 groups of people all messing with refrigerant.

I have a gased headache. I wonder if a person could passout or have other problems from this exposure.

Sometimes I feel dizzy like I could fall down.

Yes, it is dangerous in non-vented rooms, it could kill a person...it displaces oxygen. Make sure the doors and windows are open when you guys are messing with it...a headache is a good sign that your not getting enough o2.
    In the field, we smell it only because it can tell you about the system, but you wouldn't want to start puffing on the end of your charging hose.
    your instructor SHOULD have a handle on this...
    Hey mosquito, quit biting (slap!!) me... ©
    Anyone like Josey Wales?
    C'mon, you know I'm right!

The only thing that should go into your lungs is PURE air.

But that ain't going to happen.

What is really funny is seeing a guy puffing on a cigarette while working with refrigerants. He might be sucking in a nice dose of phosgene.

You guys are spoda-be learning NOT to vent refrigerants!!!

Oh boy jt here you go !!! You are a liberal , I know exactly what you are thinking.........LAW SUITE !!!
    R-22 as a gas is not dangerous to you. Where the danger comes in is when the gas displaces the oxygen . You can prevent that from happening by lighting a torch and taking deep breaths !

Originally posted by refrtech
    Oh boy jt here you go !!! You are a liberal , I know exactly what you are thinking.........LAW SUITE !!!
    R-22 as a gas is not dangerous to you. Where the danger comes in is when the gas displaces the oxygen . You can prevent that from happening by lighting a torch and taking deep breaths !
    Man....youre MEAN....LOL
    In honor of Murray Woodgate (aka Carnak) 1961 - 2010