Trane,Carrier,and Ruud Heat pump ???

I am having a Heat pump installed here in a few weeks and have some questions.I am a electrical engineer well almost last year of school.I know a lot, but not everything that is for sure.I have estimates from Trane ,Carrier and on Monday the guy from Ruud is coming. The quotes were less than I thought they would be so far.The Trane guy is the most $$ I can get a 4 Ton 15 Seer Single stage or a Carrier 16 seer Infinity for a few Hundred less.I was wondering is the Carrier 16 infinity a two stage?He called me with the quote and will be mailing it to me on the phone he told me variable speed and from the price difference of that compared to the 15 seer it better be. I was told by the Trane guy that I needed a new copper line set for the trane.My unit now is a 1990 Coleman/Evcon 3.5 Tons Air/with a gas furnace it has a 3/4 suction line.The Carrier guy said the line is fine, he said I was lucky with who put that Coleman in because the duct work for our house is great needs nothing but cleaning.I know line size is very important but copper is $$$ but I do want it to work the best.I don't care what they said about Ruud I am getting quote. I was wondering on the Carrier and the Ruuds do they have TXV Valves on both inside and out?I know Carrier calls Orifices Actuators I think. I don't want a System with any orifice at all they are not very good when it comes to refrigerant flow. I know Trane has on demand defrost which is good when in the heating do the others or do they have the standard 30,60,90 set up? I want to be able to lock out or at least turn off some of stages of emergency heat cause most folks don't know(my Family) that when you jack up that temp on a heat pump your heat strips come on and 15k heat strips are not a cheap way to heat.. I would appreciate any advice on this cause I am doling out a lot of money and I want to get a good system and a most of all a good install..These suction line size and other things are very im