Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 77
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64
    Sorry,

    Home average was 76.5 when test started with outdoor Temp @ 82 & overcast

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64

    Unhappy

    Anyone still out there?

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Wadsworth, OH
    Posts
    316

    Hmm

    Tom,

    What you are desribing presently is an issue of insufficient run time to dry out the house. This problem would be exasperated if you had a larger system (like an 8 ton). You need to have someone verify that the staging is functioning on both the A/C unit and the blower. The system needs to be operating at it's lowest capacity to lengthen run cycles.
    There is a way to slow the blower down to its circulation mode speed which might help. If you want to try this, just simply remove the Y1 wire from the furnace control board. If there are two wires connected to the Y1 (YLO) terminal in the furnace, remove them from the terminal and connect them together with a wire nut. This will allow the A/C to run on low stage and the blower will run at its lowest cfm level.

    Joe
    "When you perceive zoning not as a bandage but as an enhancement, you truly understand the dynamics and limitations of forced air heating and cooling"

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64
    Joe,

    Thank you for the advice, but at this stage I do not want to attempt anything that my void my warrenty. The company I have has installed and AirAdvice unit in my home for the last two weeks and the reports on line show a consistent 55-65% humidity level.

    You have been the only one who beleives the load calculation justify the 5 ton unit. How can that be? Is there a soild company in the Plano, TX area that knows what they are doing with a ZONE system. I really need to make this work.

    I am getting no where with the group that installed, each time they show up, it is some poor service tech that does not know why he is here or what to do to correcct the problem. All they ever say is turn the therms down to 70 and leave them there??? This can't be the answer!

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Originally posted by carestx
    Joe,

    Thank you for the advice, but at this stage I do not want to attempt anything that my void my warrenty. The company I have has installed and AirAdvice unit in my home for the last two weeks and the reports on line show a consistent 55-65% humidity level.

    You have been the only one who beleives the load calculation justify the 5 ton unit. How can that be? Is there a soild company in the Plano, TX area that knows what they are doing with a ZONE system. I really need to make this work.

    I am getting no where with the group that installed, each time they show up, it is some poor service tech that does not know why he is here or what to do to correcct the problem. All they ever say is turn the therms down to 70 and leave them there??? This can't be the answer!
    Hope you got a 10 year parts and labor warranty,the job has problems ,from what you have stated.

    There is no way it could be right,again ,from what you have stated.

    1.New 5 ton zoned duct system,then added 2 tons,to be delivered thru the 5 ton duct system.

    2.Unlikely that it is getting the proper air flow,on each of the 3 stages.

    3.No real solutions from the installing contractor.


    Try Tempo Mechanical,972-579-2000, I know the guy that runs it,they can surly solve your problem,but it would be best to get the installing contractor back to solve it,as they should.

    [Edited by dash on 10-22-2004 at 11:30 AM]

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64

    Smile Response to DASH

    Dash,

    Is the group you metioned more of a Eng. group, that is one that does not install or service systems. I am looking for a group that does HVAC Eng. / Design.

    I would like to have the comapny that installed it correct the problem. I have all the manufactures warranties on the equip. Plus a 100% satisfaction or my money back from the installations group. What I want to do is start over from the begining, new load calculations, duct design and salvage what we can from the original install and I have made this request of the owner with no result.

    This has been going on for 6 months! With the summer all but over in TX I need some resolution fast!



  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4H: Hot, Humid Houston H.O.
    Posts
    3,304

    H.O. idea

    I came across this thread late, but we have something in common. Grew up in Dallas and have a 3430 sqft house in S. Texas now.

    After reading the thread, you certainly have a design or installation problem with your main system. I cannot help you with that but may be able to recommend a couple of things which will not harm, and may help.

    You state you have a humidity problem. Getting a Thermastor 86 pint/day dehumidifier brought my house by a full 10 percentage points of RH. You can add this and continue to negotiate with the original contractor, and they certainly will not object to you having a dehumidifier. My experience is the Thermastor shares humidity load with the AC, with a KWH measuring device attached it costs me about $20/mn worst case, and about $5 during the summer.

    The dehumidifier will take on some of the latent load, unless I am badly mistaken that will free up your main AC to do more cooling. This is partially offset by the heat thrown off by the dehumidifier (anything that can draw 6.3 amps will generate some heat) but I believe the operating cost may be little or no higher than your AC alone.

    Don't be overly fooled by the Thermastor claim that 100 pints/day will treat "up to 2500 sqft". This is no more legitimate than any other X/sqft rule of thumb. I am sure that any dehumidifier will help you out, be it rated at 86, or 100, or 150 pints/day. You could even try a $200 experiment and buy a 60 pint/day portable from a local store, I predict you will like the humidity removal but will soon lose patience with manually emptying the condensate reservoir.

    Nobody has yet mentioned infiltration. I believe you would do well to have a whole house infiltration test, plus a duct leakage test. If you find any excessive leakage, well that is part of your problem and an opportunity for you to fix it. Again, any progress on this front will assist those poor guys who are trying to make your 5-ton AC adequate.

    If you don't have radiant barrier in your attic, you should get it and expect about 10% overall energy savings. Your attic will be cooler, some rooms may be more comfortable, it may not solve your whole problem but it will definitely help some.

    Hope this helps -- P. Student

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836

    Re: Response to DASH

    Originally posted by carestx
    Dash,

    Is the group you metioned more of a Eng. group, that is one that does not install or service systems. I am looking for a group that does HVAC Eng. / Design.

    I would like to have the comapny that installed it correct the problem. I have all the manufactures warranties on the equip. Plus a 100% satisfaction or my money back from the installations group. What I want to do is start over from the begining, new load calculations, duct design and salvage what we can from the original install and I have made this request of the owner with no result.

    This has been going on for 6 months! With the summer all but over in TX I need some resolution fast!


    No they are a contracting firm,call and ask they may be able to refer you to a design company.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64

    Question Problem Fixed?

    OK,

    Company owner came out. Said he saw no condinsation on the coil at low speed (first stage)


    This time he said it was a bad metering valve inside?

    The tech. that showed up later with the parts said he replaced the orifice with an expantion valve. He says, the EV was made for the new 412 refrig.?

    Could this have been the root of all my problems?

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,722
    A piston on a 2 stage unit would be a problem.
    Using a r410a txv, on a r22 system will also cause trouble.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836

    Re: Problem Fixed?

    Originally posted by carestx
    OK,

    Company owner came out. Said he saw no condinsation on the coil at low speed (first stage)


    This time he said it was a bad metering valve inside?

    The tech. that showed up later with the parts said he replaced the orifice with an expantion valve. He says, the EV was made for the new 412 refrig.?

    Could this have been the root of all my problems?

    A two speed without a TXV,made for R412,????

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64

    Red face

    OK, I got it wrong. The unit uses 410 refrig.

    And again, the tech. said he replaced the orifice???

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    64

    Frown To keep this going...

    What damage could have been done to the system using the orifice instead of the expantion valve?

    Home just spiking back and forth between 60 and 70% humidity

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event