+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Native Bacnet DDC

Post Likes

Native Bacnet DDC

I'm primarily a mechanical contractor now (long story), but I used to be a BAS engineer for Trane.

This job I'm bidding requires Trane equipment (M-series AHUs and a bunch of VAV boxes) so naturally I thought I'd throw a Tracer Summit system together and spec some MP581s on the AHUs and Comm 5 VAV controllers. But then I found in the spec that all DDC equipment must be Native Bacnet, so there went that idea.

What about KMC? I'd like something I'm familiar with as I intend to program it myself (used to do that, too). I used to work with Andover, but it was so cumbersome. KMC graphics were a PITA as well. I don't remember if these systems were Bacnet or not. What would you recommend to meet the spec? Anyone want to come down to the Virgin Islands for a couple of weeks and do some programming and graphics?

Post Likes
    Isn't Trane doing BACnet now?
    You will definitely pay a a lot less for a KMC system. I've not had any major hardware issues and the programming is pretty straight forward. The graphics leave a lot to be desired but they are functional.
    You might consider a Tridium Jace for your front end / web server. There is a little bit of a learning curve but once you figure it out the graphics are real easy and if you can imagine it you can probably do it.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

Post Likes
    Trane has been "doing" BACnet for a long time, but it is an emulation rather than a foundation, and very unnatural for the BCU. I doubt Trane has backslidden into the archaic world of BACnet from LONtalk. That would be like Sony bringing back the Betamax player.

This government job is spec'd native BACnet, meaning BACnet based rather than LON. I wonder if the spec is cut and paste from 2002...maybe I should ask.

Post Likes
    last I heard Trane was rolling out some BACnet MSTP unitary controllers, I thought the BACnet VAV controller was already out: