Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 82

Thread: Pressure gauges

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    Posts
    32

    Pressure gauges

    I hooked up my gauges and after i let the system run for a little bit, i checked the gauges and they were buried? what could cause this? i dont know what im doing wrong. any advice?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    497
    Buried? I dont think it was running>>>> are you a tech?...
    Jason J Saylor
    Pinellas County Schools
    HVAC Tech/Part Time HVAC Instructor Fortis College
    Pinellas County Florida

    "You will encounter many distractions and many temptations to put your goals aside: The security of a job, a wife who wants kids, Whatever. But if you hang in there, always following your vision, I have no doubt you will succeed.
    Larry Flynt quote

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Connectitaxed
    Posts
    2,644
    Buried...in a vacuum? You sure you have the access ports opened? more details.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by pdrake65 View Post
    Buried...in a vacuum? You sure you have the access ports opened? more details.
    yes the ports are open, if they werent, wouldnt there be no pressure reading?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,512
    Hey matt put some info in your profile you'll get more help here if we know a little something about you and what you do.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by saylor240 View Post
    Buried? I dont think it was running>>>> are you a tech?...

    not a tech yet, but have been going to school for two years now, im very capable of connecting the guages.

    Yes it was running, i fliped the switch on the guage and both sides went clock wise til they were buried. You dont have any idea why?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    S.C.
    Posts
    1,401
    Quote Originally Posted by matt bauman View Post
    not a tech yet, but have been going to school for two years now, im very capable of connecting the guages.

    Yes it was running, i fliped the switch on the guage and both sides went clock wise til they were buried. You dont have any idea why?
    What Switch are you talking about? We have Lots of Ideas Why, what do you think? I'm betting the Compressor is running backwards. It would be the Second today.
    Yes, I know I Shouldn't But I Just Can't Help Myself...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Home&Marine View Post
    What Switch are you talking about? We have Lots of Ideas Why, what do you think? I'm betting the Compressor is running backwards. It would be the Second today.
    not really a switch, the knob on the end of the hose that allows refrigerant to flow to the gauges. No the compressor is not running backwards atleast i dont think? How would that happen anyways?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    S.C.
    Posts
    1,401
    Quote Originally Posted by matt bauman View Post
    not really a switch, the knob on the end of the hose that allows refrigerant to flow to the gauges. No the compressor is not running backwards atleast i dont think? How would that happen anyways?
    Yes, I know I Shouldn't But I Just Can't Help Myself...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    Quote Originally Posted by matt bauman View Post
    not really a switch, the knob on the end of the hose that allows refrigerant to flow to the gauges. No the compressor is not running backwards atleast i dont think? How would that happen anyways?
    I think this happens to me once in a while when I have amnesia from the call before. Takes a minute to figure out then you cuss yourself.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, Florida
    Posts
    310
    Quote Originally Posted by matt bauman View Post
    not a tech yet, but have been going to school for two years now, im very capable of connecting the guages.
    Hmmm... That may not be a correct statement...

    I vote for the compressor in reverse.. Maybe he should switch L1 to L2??

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, Florida
    Posts
    310
    Two years in school... I wonder if they taught him yet about checking capacitors the old fashioned way like 9 volt batteries, with his tongue.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by fotofx View Post
    Two years in school... I wonder if they taught him yet about checking capacitors the old fashioned way like 9 volt batteries, with his tongue.
    When I regained consciousness, I said to myself "Yep, that capacitor is good"

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event