swamp coolers`
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: swamp coolers`

Question swamp coolers`

Howdy yall, what is a swamp cooler? I used to have a buddy that said he would put one in his backyard for barbecues and such but I'm not sure how it would be beneficial. I'm from Kansas so we don't have these things here that I'm aware of and I was curious as to how they worked. Now before anybody gives a smart@ss answer, I'm a seasoned hvac vet, so no need to dumb it down. Thanks guys.

Quote Originally Posted by supercoolER View Post
    Howdy yall, what is a swamp cooler? I used to have a buddy that said he would put one in his backyard for barbecues and such but I'm not sure how it would be beneficial. I'm from Kansas so we don't have these things here that I'm aware of and I was curious as to how they worked. Now before anybody gives a smart@ss answer, I'm a seasoned hvac vet, so no need to dumb it down. Thanks guys.

Its changes sensible to latent heat thru evaporation.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

A 'swamp cooler' also known as evaporative cooling, is a box with a blower, drawing air through wet pads. The resulting evaporation cools the air.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

2 Chronicles 7:14

Wet the back of your hand -- then blow on it. Your skin surface feels cooler. That's evaporative cooling.

Quote Originally Posted by supercoolER View Post
    I have one on my house. It cools by evaporating water. It cools the air by drawing air over a wetted fiber pad, then blows this cooled air into the house. It's pretty primitive but it works. It raises the humidity inside the house from about 20% to 40-50%, but you have to watch it in case the humidity starts getting too high. Oh, and when it's running you need to leave a window or door open for the air to exit the house.