HVAC Basics / for Dummies

Hi All

First post so here goes, basically I was hoping somebody could recommend a book or website in relation to the basics of commercial A/C systems? I am a surveyor recently moved to Australia from Scotland so its a big switch from Gas Central Heating to A/C cooling and I have little knowledge on the subject.

Any info much appreciated.

Cheers
    Alan

I'm sure that Aussie equipment is different from what we have here in the States but an excellent book is Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning.

I read it cover to cover in about a month 20 years ago and that book gave me the foundation I needed to eventually become a pretty good HVAC tech.
    Ryan
    Maintenance Guy
    -----------------
    naysayer, skeptic, conspiracy theorist

Here is an older book that is free. Basics haven't changed. I just read lots of web pages.

http://books.google.com/books?id=eS_...page&q&f=false

Modern Refrigeration is a good book. It was used when I did my pre-apprenticeship in 1980 and is still used today.

Also get the Copeland manuals and Trane has/had two books, each one
    separately titled Trane Refrigeration and Trane Air Conditioning.

Or just go to the local technical institute and use the library.
    Then again there is probably everything somewhere on the internet.

ps. there is another site called refrigeration-engineers.com

i found it after googling info about Taylor soft ice cream machines.

its very interseting and most of the members seem to be on your side
    of the world

check out rses.org the training authority. Home study courses and books. the ARI website has a bookstore also. Welcome to the world of hvac!
    Challenge yourself, take the CM test --- Certificate Member since 2004 ---Join RSES ---the HVAC/R training authority ---www.rses.org

try: Doolins Bible

explains a bunch of things in laymans terms

then read: Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning