appliance guys? - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 50

Thread: appliance guys?

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    3,112
    Having my new washer worked on right now. Frigidaire stack unit. Combined price for washer and dryer was 1400 dollars. Wouldn't go into final spin. The electronic speed control wasn't receiving a the feedback signal from the variable speed motor and transmitting it to the electronic timer. All three components are matched so all three have to be changed as a set. Unit has one year parts and labor. Bought it last July 24. Usally my luck runs the other way. I think I'll purchase the extended warrenty offered.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Smokies
    Posts
    970

    Dice sent a pic of his washer to help us diagnose it


  3. #16
    You guys are about as funny as a fart in a spacesuit, and just as helpful too. I just leave the extra spin sw off and it works. I will fix it myself someday, if I have to change every part to do so.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,866
    Originally posted by Diceman Maytag washer, few years old, nice unit so far. I notice every so often doesn't spin out final rinse, the extra rinse cycle I mean you have to select.
    Does it stop at the point of spin or does it advance to the timer off possition when it acts up?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    Need a little more info, what's the model #? Is the extra rinse switch one of the rotary type or is this touch pad? How old? Will most likely NOT be the timer. DEFINETELY IS NOT the tranny. The most common problem those washer have is if they are rotary type switch, switch is going bad, contacts inside are corroded and just replace switch, if it is the touch pad same thing, just more expensive.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,744
    Oh and one more thing. Maybe it's one of the newer all electronic circuit board timer, switching, double looped feedback circuit full rinse partial soap with humidity sensitivity control.

    If so, unplug the thing, and remove all the wires and the circuit board and soak the circuit board in a mixture of distilled vinegar and one part Jack Daniels. It always works for me.

    BTW, what color is it?
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    9,871

    Listen closely Dice

    TIMER TIMER TIMER TIMER








    BTW: My Dad was an appliance tech.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    It's the blower motor. Just replace it. As a matter of fact just start replacing parts 1 at a time till it's fixed.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago, N/W burbs
    Posts
    8,004
    Originally posted by freezone
    You need to call a pro. No DIYer's here! Read the forum rules!! Before you get kicked outta here!
    Bwahahahahaha!
    R2B4BTU

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Urbandale IA. USA
    Posts
    4,881
    If it only acts up with EXTRA RINSE selected, and the timer advances to STOP, then it probably is the rinse selector switch.
    Otherwise I still think it is the timer...

    Isn't being a DIYer fun...

    Those who dance, appear insane to those who do not hear the music.
    Those who believe, appear ignorant to those who do not know God.

  11. #24
    I think I will change all the parts just to be sure.
    WH, it is a push button sw, it fills on that last, extra rinse cycle but then doesn't spin out. I think I will start with that switch.
    The washer is white, so I need a white switch, right????
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Bennington, Vermont U.S.A.
    Posts
    13,864
    In as much as you are experiencing all this corrosion of your electronic control components it sounds to me like you have to install a 5-ton Liebert Computer Room evironmental system in your laundry room. 14 grand give or take. (oops sorry no prices)

    [Edited by benncool on 07-23-2004 at 10:26 AM]

  13. #26

    Talking

    That seems like a fair price.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me!

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event