Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OT pay???

I'm a new tech working in the Chicago area. I just ran into another one of the many quesions I'll think of in the coming weeks. What is the "norm" for overtime pay...after 40 hours per week or after 8 hours per day? Thanks.

Time and a half.

Standard around the country.

Emergancy service call pay varies from company to company.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

It varies. Union......work 8 and then go to overtime. Non-union.........work 40 and then go to overtime. That is sort of a general rule I have established based on conversations I have had with people around the country. It may be different in different areas, but I would say that what I said above is pretty much the norm.

Question

I dont make 1 dime at hourly pay but i worked for the Co. until 8:30 pm. How much did i earn? (EARN!)

oil-2-4-6-gas is offline Professional Member b&M _email server rejected
    we're non union we used to have time 1/2 after 40 but we changed to o/t after 8 hrs/ after midnight double time /holiday triple time --

Anything over 8 in a day is OT for us. So is anything before or after hours or on the weekend, regardless of hours worked.

Holiday is double.

Illinois law dictates OT after 40 regular hours. Holiday pay does not count as part of the 40. Weekends are OT if you have your 40 in the week unless it's co's fault you didn't get 40. 597 Pipefitters are OT after 8.

Our co gives OT whenever a customer pays OT. Emergency service pays from the time you leave your house to the time you finish the job.

If you're not getting your OT after 40 hours of regular work then call the department of labor. Many people have worked hard and some even gave their lives to get these laws passed. It's not right for an employer to try to get around paying you OT. It is the cost of doing business.

[Edited by otto on 07-21-2004 at 06:22 AM]
    R2B4BTU

Thanks for the OT info...