Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: union?

I am new to the trade and just applied to the sheet metal worker's union. The thing is that I just want to be an installer. Would the pipefitter's union or the sheetmetal union be better for what I want to do? What do the unions base admissions on? Is it hard to get in?

Originally posted by stlhvac
    Is it hard to get in?
    Not if you have a brain.
    A Diamond is just a piece of coal, that made good under pressure!

I was just wondering b/c I figured getting in was more about WHO you know, rather than What you know.

SO what would you guys recommend for increasing the chances of getting in? Does experience or schooling matter? Should I go with sheetmetal or pipefitting for installing?

I would go to the pipefitters. Take the test. You may need a referral, but that can come from the office. Or contact the UA in Washington D.C.

Will it matter that I have no experience, but am interested in getting in the trade? I have taken the test and did well. Now I have to wait for them to contact me for the sheetmetal union.

They will put you through school. The contractors pay for it.

Originally posted by frozensolid
    Is it hard to get in?
    Not if you have a brain.
    If you have a brain, you don't need a union
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV

I am new to the trade and just applied to the sheet metal worker's union. The thing is that I just want to be an installer. Would the pipefitter's union or the sheetmetal union be better for what I want to do? What do the unions base admissions on? Is it hard to get in?