Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    hey commercial people.
    i'm a young tech who mostly works on residential units, but today i started working on a 15 ton chiller. the evap froze and now there is water in the system. i have a new txv, 2 new solenoids, new sight glass, and an add-on suction line filter drier to install. i have high water cores that i will change in the first couple days as well as new filters for the liquid line filter drier.
    i got about 2 gallons of water out of the old girl, but i don't think any made it up into the compressors (which set at the highest point of the chiller setup).
    should i be changing out the oil? what are my chances of really getting this thing up and working again? i wish they would have thrown the damn thing out b/c this is one big job staring me in the face. i guess i change everything out and let the vac pump run for a week. i think every day i'll come back and pressurize it up with nitrogen and then start evacing again.

let me know what you think, and if you have any tid bits of info for me.

thanks!

aaron

Your repair costs on a chiller that small will be more than the chiller is worth. Should have junked it IMO. A good evacuation, purging it wirh nitrogen, multiple oil and drier changes are about all you can do besides prey.

i didn't see whre the chiller barrell or condenser barrell will be replaced. if you have water in the system then it came from one of these sources. why are you changing the solenoids and txv's are they bad. why the suction drier.
    you need to install a new cooler or condenser which ever is leaking, install a changable shell and core drier in the liquid line with hi moisture driers, setup a foreline machine hookup vaccum pumps to it and pull vaccumm to 500 microns. also open up system at lowest point and any place that could trap water, drain as much as possible then purge with nitrogen then evacuate.