Heat okay, AC not

Question

Hey guys, I have a furnace with a Honeywell ST9120C-4040 System board in it.

My heater works fine but my A/C won't kick on (worked fine last year) anyway I'm a complete noob at this HVAC stuff, but I pulled out my meter and the signal from the transformer is 24V.. the diagram on the Carrier AC unit says "External Power Source 24V"... but the signal going over the 2 wires out there is only 5V (When the T-Stat is set to AC on)... So is it just that I need to replace this board? Or is it maybe something on the carrier not sending a signal back?

Maybe it's that simple and it's just a dumb question but figured I would ask before dropping the $105 on the board.

Thanks in advance

Is there a condensation pump at the furnace? If its full of water, it will break the cooling circuit. Next, check 24v wireing at stat, furnace, and cond. Make sure all connections are good. Does the condensor have any safty switches?
    "Politicians are the lowest form of life on Earth. Liberal Democrats are the lowest form of politician"

- General George S. Patton

Too many posibilities to guess at.
    Drop the bucks and get the system evaluated and repaired.

Smile