Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern US
    Posts
    504

    York Solid State Starter

    I have 2 older models YSDADASA-CLA with liquid cooled Starters. One unit is continually having over temp faults. Pump is new, condensor water lines are free of obstructions and pressure diff is normal, coolant level is full and the heat exchanger was pulled and cleaned. Blew out the heat sinks.

    The chiller adjacent is running fine with all temps checking the same.

    I would like to ask if anyone has any info on checking the resistors on the trigger board or would have any suggestions on where to locate this info.

    Currently the customer has a box fan on the trigger board trying to keep unit online.

    I'm good at making things cold...You can ask my first two wives!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,618
    The SCR's have thermistors that look at the temp. needs to be below 109 deg. trip at 212 deg all three legs need to be the same or close if they are not you will trip you most likely have a bad sensor check page 23 of this IOM for the resistance chart.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern US
    Posts
    504

    york56

    You sir are a gentleman and a scholar!
    Thats exactly the info I need!!!!!!!!!! Many thanks!
    I'm good at making things cold...You can ask my first two wives!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,618
    Glad that I could help you out.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    N.E. IA
    Posts
    512

    Wink Coolant

    Same subject, slightly different tact.

    How often is it REALLY necessary to change the coolant fluid? ( I know the manual says every year, but just wondering what all you experienced "Yorkies" think.

    Is it necessary to use York's "snake oil" or is there something generic that will do just as well (or better)?
    "Wheel" mechanics work on "Wheel" chillers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,618
    As part of the winter service contract agreemnets we use to change it yearly regardless but we were factory as for other companies haven't seen alot of companies change it at all , you could probably go 2 years but you should check the level at required intervals , as for something else for replacement don't know of anything but mabey you could buy a container and have it tested to see whats in it percentage #s just a thought.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    N.E. IA
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by york56 View Post
    As part of the winter service contract agreemnets, we use to change it yearly regardless. But we were factory. As for other companies, haven't seen alot of companies change it at all. You could probably go 2 years, but you should check the level at required intervals. As for something else for replacement, don't know of anything, but maybe you could buy a container and have it tested to see whats in it . Percentage #s just a thought.
    O.K. Just might do that. Thanks
    "Wheel" mechanics work on "Wheel" chillers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    112
    Also check how hoses are hooked to condenser. If it is a 3 pass machine and hoses are on opposite ends(only half of condenser delta P) you can move to inlet and outlet of actual piping, this will increase flow (delta P) of heat exchanger. This has help some places with high ambient problems.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,176
    I had that same problem once and found that one of the sensor wires was rubbing on the door and every once in awhile it would short out and give a high motor temp trip.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    i had 2 of them, I think same circa???
    there was a service bulletin to add a small small tiny capacitor to the main circuit board!

    I went to radio shack and spent $1.99 BAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I still have the service guide in my basement!
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern US
    Posts
    504
    I'ld like a copy if you happen to run across it sometime.

    Turned out the problem on this post was a small leak in the cabinet and the heat was evaporating the evidence. I put new hoses on and it never tripped again.
    I'm good at making things cold...You can ask my first two wives!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    no problem!
    I will scan it for you this weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




    Quote Originally Posted by BKS60 View Post
    I'ld like a copy if you happen to run across it sometime.

    Turned out the problem on this post was a small leak in the cabinet and the heat was evaporating the evidence. I put new hoses on and it never tripped again.
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    hampton roads, Va
    Posts
    16
    there are several green sheets i can share if need be!!!! the starter fluid is distilled water with nitrate or coloring to know when to change

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event