Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: R404a charging

I need to charge from scratch a low temp unit (Copeland M4FL0040IAA201) with R404a. The system is under vacuum and ready for charging. I have never charged a blend before but understand that it must be done as a liquid. Could someone please walk me through this? Do I add the liquid through the high side valve? When do I start up? After start up, how do I add more liquid safely?

Obviously, I am not an expert. This unit is on a scientific instrument, which I use daily in my work. I have replaced the compressors on several other similar units in the past but they were R12 and R502, which didn't require liquid charging (or at least I didn't do it that way).

Thanks in advance for your help.