Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 54

Thread: Capillary Tube

  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    In a mechanical room....
    Posts
    1,886

    Lightbulb

    Do you know what this pic is? Just as said replace oil "why not" and size the cap tube "theres have a tool for this" note length and go get yer self a roll of new cap tube and cut to length. Oh when cutting either use a cap tube cutter or use a file and file all around evenly and it will snap nice and clean with no restrictions.
    “It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.”

    - E.E. Cummings

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    Wow, I guess I have been doing it all wrong all these years! I have replaced literally hundreds of cap tubes, and not once have I ever tried to change the oil in a tin can! If you are in a bad location where the condenser will get overheated from time to time and the unit is a 134A, change it over to 401 or 409.
    As for cutting cap tubes, I just use my wire strippers to score a grove, and snap them. I can't believe anyone would spend that much time on a reach in without improving it by changing over to TXV or AXV.
    And to all the guys who haven't a lot of experience with reach ins, True counter units have two screws in the top of each door that go up into the top, take them out, then take out the door hinges, then cut the silicone around the top, then slide the top back an inch or two and it will come off, giving you access to the evap.
    Bev air doors just pick up, then take the evap all apart, and try not to burn a big arse hole in the evap when you take out the old cap tube. Those bev air evaps are paper thin, and they don't give you much room to work.

    OK I'm done
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    986
    Interesting thread. I have had several cap tubes that plugged up over the years. Only recently learned of the waxing problem with 134a machines. I have tried to cut the cap tube back and was successful at getting it to run again for a while. But if you do not change that oil, you will be back. The only reason it waxed your cap tube in the first place was because it had gotten hot. And the properties that plugged it the first time are still in that oil. If you are not going to change the compressor(which is what I strongly recommend) then you better change that oil. Let me tell you how bad this can be. I would and have replaced the compressor and sold the compressor at cost to avoid this problem. You are still going to make the same on labor, and the parts are going to be covered. You are still going to sell the refrigerant and the new dryer and whatever other misc. charges you are going to invoice, and the customer's cost to pay for that compressor at cost will be less or equal to the cost of your labor to take the old one out and change the oil,but at least you can know that the oil is ok. Is this a safe bet? heck no, but it is the best you are going to get.
    Bad information is worse than no information at all.

    There are three kinds of people in this world. Those who can count and those who can't!

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by surenuff View Post
    Interesting thread. I have had several cap tubes that plugged up over the years. Only recently learned of the waxing problem with 134a machines. I have tried to cut the cap tube back and was successful at getting it to run again for a while. But if you do not change that oil, you will be back. The only reason it waxed your cap tube in the first place was because it had gotten hot. And the properties that plugged it the first time are still in that oil. If you are not going to change the compressor(which is what I strongly recommend) then you better change that oil. Let me tell you how bad this can be. I would and have replaced the compressor and sold the compressor at cost to avoid this problem. You are still going to make the same on labor, and the parts are going to be covered. You are still going to sell the refrigerant and the new dryer and whatever other misc. charges you are going to invoice, and the customer's cost to pay for that compressor at cost will be less or equal to the cost of your labor to take the old one out and change the oil,but at least you can know that the oil is ok. Is this a safe bet? heck no, but it is the best you are going to get.
    your right;

    that is basically what i said earlier



    .

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    986
    Quote Originally Posted by Airmechanical View Post
    your right;

    that is basically what i said earlier



    .
    Sorry?
    Bad information is worse than no information at all.

    There are three kinds of people in this world. Those who can count and those who can't!

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,291
    Quote Originally Posted by icemeister View Post
    I would be interested in what Delfield Tech Support has to say though. You just may be right about the cutting to size of the published length of tube.

    I doubt that's the case, but I do enjoy being pleasantly surprised from time to time.
    I'll call tech support today, and they said it's definitely .036"x168". And if it's around 60", then someone replaced or cut it.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    986
    Should work
    Bad information is worse than no information at all.

    There are three kinds of people in this world. Those who can count and those who can't!

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,291
    One last dumb question, I going to have alot of cap tube. I plan on sweating it into the evap, running it up to the suction of the evap and wrapping it 5 times, then running it against the suction to the back and insulating it, and then sweating it into the new drier. I will have alot of length between the drier and the suction line, do I just coil it up and insulate it with cork tape?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,291
    So a little update.....
    So I got back there today. Removed the gas. Come to find out the cap tube was wrapped around the entire suction line(hence why they said it was 168" and I only guessed 60"). So I purged with n2, and unsweated cap out of coil. Cut the drier and compressor out. Blew through both coils with n2. Replaced the oil in the compressor. I installed the new drier and .036" x 168" cap, just like I took it out. (Also checked cap with a #64 bit after I cut it) Sweated everthing in, while purging n2. Weighed 8oz of 404a in. Still running like there is a restriction. Compressor overheating.

    Suction 15.8psi
    Discharge 222
    Liquid 220
    Suction 73 degrees
    Liquid 86 degrees
    Box temp 80 degrees
    Ambient 84 degrees

    Any ideas?

    BTW- I hate doing favors for friends.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1,111
    Try adding a couple of more oz of gas to it. You might have a couple stuck in your manifold and hose and probably have a bigger drier now than the factory one.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,291
    Quote Originally Posted by Dchappa21 View Post
    Try adding a couple of more oz of gas to it. You might have a couple stuck in your manifold and hose and probably have a bigger drier now than the factory one.
    I did add 3 more oz to see what would happen. Not much change. It just won't run long enough with a such a high suction to the compressor.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1,111
    I would still try a few more oz your subcolling is only 9 and your discharge pressure is kinda low for the load... Your suction is also low for the load not high.

    Is your evap fan klixon working ????

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,291
    Quote Originally Posted by Dchappa21 View Post
    I would still try a few more oz your subcolling is only 9 and your discharge pressure is kinda low for the load... Your suction is also low for the load not high.

    Is your evap fan klixon working ????
    I jumped it out.....because the fan wasn't kicking on. I checked it by blowing some liquid on to it and it did close. But left it jumped out as I was checking it.

    I was a little hesitant about adding gas, since I was at 11 oz and the plate was 8oz. Would a couple oz really drop my sh that much? I was at like 95+ degrees SH.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event