Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,879
    Does anyone have any info on the trouble shooting sequence for a trane variable speed, A/C cond unit. Its a TTS. Without some kind of operational theory, it's like threading a needle blindfolded.
    A Diamond is just a piece of coal, that made good under pressure!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    9,871
    Are you asking about a 2 speed compressor?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,879
    No it's a true variable speed. I think it's a DC compressor with a inverter speed control. Not something you come across everyday
    A Diamond is just a piece of coal, that made good under pressure!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Cartersville Ga
    Posts
    1,035
    is that a 1500 or something like that? i remember @ 1990 trane had a vs comp in the "xv1500"?
    In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King! semper fi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,879
    Then, they stopped making it in 95.
    A Diamond is just a piece of coal, that made good under pressure!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    I have a customer with 3 of those, no idea on troubleshooting the compressor except..... if its broke, replace it, Im sure the replacement price on the compressor or the controls is outrageous, if they are even available

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,000
    Originally posted by swampfox
    I have a customer with 3 of those, no idea on troubleshooting the compressor except..... if its broke, replace it, Im sure the replacement price on the compressor or the controls is outrageous, if they are even available
    They're available, and you are correct on the pricing...better to replace than to repair. Since most techs haven't been to any training on these beasts since 1993, you'll end up doing more part changing than troubleshooting. I'd recommend selling a new system unless you can get your hands on the troubleshooting guide. It's available through your local residential distributor.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2,652
    Originally posted by jrbenny
    Originally posted by swampfox
    I have a customer with 3 of those, no idea on troubleshooting the compressor except..... if its broke, replace it, Im sure the replacement price on the compressor or the controls is outrageous, if they are even available
    They're available, and you are correct on the pricing...better to replace than to repair. Since most techs haven't been to any training on these beasts since 1993, you'll end up doing more part changing than troubleshooting. I'd recommend selling a new system unless you can get your hands on the troubleshooting guide. It's available through your local residential distributor.
    Agreed....you CAN'T trouble shoot that thing without the big thick manual, you just can't.
    I have worked on a couple. Changed out one because the bridge rectifier(converts a/c to d/c) shorted and a/c power took the compressor out. Worst part, the damn unit was sooooooo big I had to pop the top and climb in to troubleshoot the compressor.
    There are 3 ways to do anything in life; Good, Fast, Slow: You can pick any 2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event