Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Paterson,New Jersey
    Posts
    2

    Question

    Another Technician changed a compressor on a less than one year cooler. He said he put the 33 ounces of R-134a the cooler ask for. The suction was working in vaccumm and discharge was at below 100 psig, apparently is low in charge. My boss sent me to check the cooler and found that it needs more gas. So,I added more and brought the pressures up; suction 20 and discharge 175 psig. The compressor got hotter and eventually cut off on overload. I reclaim the refrigerant and started charging again until I read 10 F.L.A for the whole system. The nameplate ask for 11 F.L.A. but the pressures are 2 psig in the suction and 125 psig in the discharge. Even though looks like a restriction there is none. Question: What are the normal pressures with R-134a in these cooler. Remember this is a Hussmann Cooler. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Orange County CA
    Posts
    1,084
    are you sure the cap tube isn't plugged?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,895
    That really sounds like your typical poly oil overheated and coated the insides of the cap tube deal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,394
    Yup.......it's time for a new cap tube and filter.

  5. #5
    Originally posted by willieos
    Even though looks like a restriction there is none. Question: What are the normal pressures with R-134a in these cooler.
    how can you be so sure about "NO" restriction?
    and not knowning the "normal" operating pressure on a cooler?
    Don't interrupt me while i'm talking to myself

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Originally posted by willieos
    Remember this is a Hussmann Cooler. Thanks.
    Don't matter if it's a Hussmann, a Bev-air, or a fudpucker.

    You've got a liquid line restriction.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    12,037

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,394
    Originally posted by lusker
    Does anyone remember the hydrolic cap tube cleaners? $70 to buy the cleaner, 2 hours to figure out it won't work OR $10.00 to replace the cap tube.
    Do you mean one of these? : http://www.thermal-eng.com/HTML/5101.htm

    Condenseddave has one and still uses it the last I heard.

    My Dad had one of those many years ago. Of course in those days caps didn't plug up nearly as often as they do now since the onset of POE oils. I usually just change the cap tube and install a Sporlan C032CAP-T filter-drier on the little units.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    12,037

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Originally posted by lusker
    Does anyone remember the hydrolic cap tube cleaners? $70 to buy the cleaner, 2 hours to figure out it won't work OR $10.00 to replace the cap tube.
    Apparently, 2 hours was not enough to figure out how it works.

    I've had mine for ten years and it's worked every single time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event