Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

refrigerant Burn (apprentices read)

I am writing this to warn other apprentices the danger of refrigerant. I am a first year apprentice that has been doing install, but in the off time of my 4yr apprenticeship they let me ride with service. I was on a simple maintenance and the tech let me do the outside unit. I noticed when putting on gauges to the liquid line that the shrader was very long or something. It was just not right. The caps were not on, but sitting inside the electrical cabinet. My common sense told me it was not right, but i let the pressure to perform get to me. I started unscrewing the liquid line, and it just kept shooting out! I say 5-8 seconds is all it took for this burn. Worst part is you know your hands feeling weird, but you don't even know your burned. It's only hours later that you actually feel burned, and hours after that till you know how bad it really is. I will also tell you it is very painful for days, and not just 5 minutes It's days this hurts!!!!

The image i am showing you is really five seconds damage from just unscrewing from a unit.

i got a bad freon burn once...it was dark out and the schraeder was faulty.. i tried capping it to save the gas and winded up getting burned pretty good and also winded up having to let all the gas go b/c i couldn't cap it.. loss loss situation..

people should note warnings inside units to let others know of any dangers - in my opinion

That is a bad burn probably second degree. I literally feel your pain. I have been there and done that. But never again. This is one lesson one only has to learn once. Thanks for posting so as others may learn from your mistake. Look into the quick disconnects if you are now gun shy.

Do a search. You ain't the first, won't be the last either.
    Ask me how I know.
    Yes I do have the quick connects now. It only took me 30 plus years, and uncounted burns.