Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 22 of 22
  1. #14
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    996
    such as those connections?

    'loosley'?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    south
    Posts
    593
    hope insurance policy up to date

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    1,634
    There's no way in hell that an electrican did that. 1) They used wire ties. 2) There's no nasty electrical tape all over everything. 3) The disconnect is mounted in an accessible place. All of the disconnects I've seen sparkies install around here require climbing over the unit or some other acrobatic move to reach.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    428
    I would have used the black wire ties instead of the white ties. L.M.A.O.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    23
    Originally posted by cde72
    Your using the term "electrician" loosely, right?
    Sad thing is... around here the Hacknslash Heating and Cooling Companies also claim to be electricians, after all, its only wire!! Again... homeowners are ignorant to codes, permits needed, and sometimes "misinformed" by installers. Most don't realize they need a permit to change out a water heater, run additional gas line, or add on a humidifier, let alone major appliance work.

    Ignorance is NOT bliss.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    209
    HaHa, "Sparkies", thats a good one.

    Well the post header said "what wast the electrician thinking", well I do believe that question is answered, He obviously didnt, funny thing is it probably took the Brain Limping Lad all day to install that.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6
    Does that green hose come from the water meter and supply the house? :-)

    Also isn't the coiled up flex in the way of the service access?

    The electrician must have also been the cable guy. GIT-R-Done.

    Longtime lurker and lover of Wall-o-Shame.

    injuneer

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    1,634
    Originally posted by steamer
    HaHa, "Sparkies", thats a good one.
    That is actually what they're called in stagecraft/theater work. At many times, they are deserving of the name. Ever plug 120v gear into a 240v circuit? happens all the time in stage production. Good 'ol Sparkies.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    996
    in school, high school / vocational school, we were given laptops as part of the ciriculum. most laptop power supplies are capable of doing 100 - 240 VAC power. the kids were plugging their laptops into the 240 VAC outlet in the back of the lab. one day, they were working (inagine that!) of a unit and were going to pull a vaccum. well, they got out a brand new just out of the box i believe it was robinair vaccum pump, 120 VAC mind you. now, what did they do, you guessed it jammed the vac pump into 240 VAC plug, flipped the switch. i think tat the pump motor has about 5% of the smoke charge left and you know how hard that smoke jug is to obtain. lol

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event