Need Comp for reach-in no info
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    10

    Hmm

    I am an HVAC tech I have never worked on coolers. A friend of mine got a small reach-in cooler and it seems that the compressor may be bad. There is no nameplate on the cooler anywhere. All I could find was a plate on the compressor and it reads as follows:

    AJ311 BJ-424
    G B22 82C 95300 AJ6435A
    V115 Hz 60 LRA 38.2
    v110 Hz 50 PH1

    It is a small unit I don't think the LRA is 38.2 but that is what it looked like. Anyway what brand, Hp, refrigerant type would this be most likely R-12 I figure but what about the rest?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    245
    Take those #'s to a supply house that sells Techumseh Compressors. They will help. And yes the LRA is 38 amps if you wrote the #'s down right.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    most of the time in the Philippines
    Posts
    1,211
    It's medium temp, normal starting torque, 3500 btu's at a +20 evaporator, R-12. At http://www.tecumseh.com you can look up this stuff for yourself. You can also download/print a Tecumseh Compressor Service Manual or, alternatively, call them and they'll send you one for free.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    Originally posted by mikeymorehead
    I am an HVAC tech I have never worked on coolers. A friend of mine got a small reach-in cooler and it seems that the compressor may be bad. There is no nameplate on the cooler anywhere. All I could find was a plate on the compressor and it reads as follows:

    AJ311 BJ-424
    G B22 82C 95300 AJ6435A
    V115 Hz 60 LRA 38.2
    v110 Hz 50 PH1

    It is a small unit I don't think the LRA is 38.2 but that is what it looked like. Anyway what brand, Hp, refrigerant type would this be most likely R-12 I figure but what about the rest?
    The replacement compressor is Mod# AKA9434AXA B/M# AK159AT-038-J7. Your local wholesaler should have them in stock.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    puerto rico
    Posts
    121
    LRA (38.2)7=5.4amp

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    6,047
    You say the unit may be bad.

    What has been done thus far to determine what condition the unit is really in?

    Do you have an "Annie" Hermetic anyliser? Are you familiar with the clip cord jump start method?

    Has anyone ohmed out the compressor?

    If ya got ohms, you got one of two things.... either bad starting components; relay, capacitor. Or you got a mechanically locked up compressor.

    Cause if you got ohms, you have already ruled out open windings and ground shorted windings.

    Also make real sure your voltage at the unit is high enough to start the compressor. Extension cords are NOT good for itty bitty units.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    10

    Thanks for help

    Thanks for all of the help guys. I've looked it up also and will also check it out. Comp. has hard-start kit on it. I'll check it then the windings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event