Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Best boiler for hydronic radiant heating

I am in the process of designing a custom home with my architect/builder. I've decided to do in-floor radiant heating throughout the house (approx 4000sq-ft) as well as finish the basement and heat that as well (additional 1700 sq-ft). The house is in Ontario, Canada so it gets quite cold in the winter.

I like being an educated consumer but have never dealt with hydronic heating before so I'm a total newb on this stuff. I'd like to know what kind of boiler is best for this application and which brands are good.

A relative has a slightly smaller home (3500 sq-ft, basement not finished) and uses an NTI Trinity Ti200 for his in floor radiant heating. He claims he has no issues with it. Is this a decent boiler?

My required criteria are:

1) High energy efficiency
    2) Low noise
    3) Durability

Suggestions?

The Trinity is supposed to be good.. The designer/installer is most important. Someone who will stand behind the equipment installed. Equipment with a good track record & a supplier/mfg. with credentials for long term support. Do your homework, & get some referrals. Don't forget that Ontario is supporting 'green' tech. & solar could be cost effective for you. Hope your architect is aware of that as well.

Hmmm solar? Who makes such a system so I can check it out?

Also one other question, if I wanted to have a heated driveway, what kind of boiler would I need for that?

This is a loaded topic bur requires someone with lots of depth of experience to really render facts and not just an opinion.