I'm an duct installer, and at my own home we have been doing some work and cut in a attic drop down staircase and a new electrical service from the attic. Now I have mold and moisture on the walls in the areas we are working. does anyone have a idea of a way to test.

thanks

get an %RH meter from a reptile pet store ~$10. Keep RH below 60%, the lower, the better.

Add insulation & weatherstripping to drop- down steps. You could also seal off the attic vents to keep humidity from attic.

Thanks alot, I thought it would be the attic insulation, at times the cieling and walls sweat. Someone told me once to run the AC as cold as it could get to remove the moisture..... is that true????

Originally posted by cgross
    Thanks alot, I thought it would be the attic insulation, at times the cieling and walls sweat. Someone told me once to run the AC as cold as it could get to remove the moisture..... is that true????
    Not necessarily. Every degree downward the thermostat is moved increases the RH% by 2 points.

Check it out with a psyc chart for your acturl conditions.

Frank

hey it is all relative 39% humidity can be high relatively and 70% can be low relatively

It would do your home a lot more good to keep the fan running constantly to keep the moisture from collecting. The air changes will help to drag the moisture out and keep the RH down more than trying to cool your place down to 68 degrees, which will only increase your electric bill and create more moisture along the exterior walls. And make sure your moisture barrier has been installed correctly.

Originally posted by marauderx