Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,688

    Crestron Integration

    Anyone have any information on the Crestron system, especially regarding integration and any protocols that they communicate.

    kontrol out
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Open protocols? You can't handle open protocols!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7fjDS0jKiE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    250
    kontrolphreak

    What are you looking to Integrate with Crestron.

    Have done a few projects with there systems.

    Most common communication is either RS-232 or a LAN connection, but there are certian other protocols on specific device.

    Lontshooter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,688
    Currently I was looking for either a MODbus or BACnet interface, but possibly could do LON by adding another device. If you have any information I would appreciate it.

    kontrol out
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Open protocols? You can't handle open protocols!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7fjDS0jKiE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    466
    The only Crestron integration I've done was over BACnet - the Crestron contractor supplied the Fieldserver that converted between BACnet and whatever they talk...Crestron partnered with Fieldserver a few years ago to implement a solution, so I don't think they talk anything like Modbus or BACnet...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,218
    I think crestron can do modbus natively, the last few integrations I did with them was direct modbus with no fieldserver. If there is lon they usually get a lon to modbus fiedlserver.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    321
    Crestron does have Modbus but your local dealer might not be any help with it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    250
    Crestron uses what they call Crestronet for there commnication format.
    They will not talk directly to any device other than a Fieldserver device.

    They have agreement with Fieldserver to produce the driver need for the interface to LON, Modbus or BACnet.

    The Filedserver Devcie is only avaiable from Crestron dealers and some select Fieldserver dealers, and I mean very select group.

    This is a copyrighted items and protect by Crestron.

    The dealers can provide you with the units and help with the integration of the unit.

    The price for the unit depends on how many points that you are going to map over.

    Lontshooter

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,459
    A new proprietary-only approach, in the spring of 2010???

    I thought we killed off the BetaMax mentality decades ago.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    497
    On two jobs, I used modbus to talk directly to Crestron with a Jace.
    RealEyes
    Realize
    RealLies!




  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Coast, CA
    Posts
    75

    Crestron is "Open"

    Our company uses the Tridium front end for DDC and is also a Crestron dealer. Disclaimer: I forwarded this thread to someone in our company way more technical than I and here is the response:

    Crestron uses 'serial' communications ports that are open and custom programmable. Crestron created custom modbus program modules for an alerton project that are free and included in the standard module database.

    The whole point of Crestron is to be open for the purpose of integrating multiple protocols. They were doing this before BACnet or Lon were even thought of in our industry! We worked on a project with RCI Communicating thermostats (RS485 published protocol) in which the Crestron processor read in the RCI packets and passed them via Ethernet to an html monitoring screen - that was 5 years ago...

    We purchase the modbus 'slave' driver from Tridium and connect directly to the Crestron processor (RS232 serial port to RS232 serial port). It's important that the Tridium driver be 'slave' as the provided Crestron modules are 'master'. Crestron does the polling...

    They can purchase a Fieldserver protocol converter but all that will do is convert modbus from Crestron to some other protocol (BACnet, Lon, other). It makes the most sense to go Crestron/Master Modbus to Jace (other) Modbus Slave.

    Note: the Crestron processor can get easily overloaded with too much polling going on. Care should be taken in this regard. If the Crestron Programmer recommends a dedicated processor to handle the protocol integration - you should heed their recommendation.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by cacontrolgirl View Post
    They were doing this before BACnet or Lon were even thought of in our industry!
    ...that was 5 years ago...
    Really? SO long ago?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    151
    I integrated with Creston using Modbus RTU aswell. Added a controller on the BMS to act as a modbus slave, with the Creston acting as the Modbus master.

    Seemed to work OK and it looked pretty cool with all the wireless touchscreens. Thought about getting one for my house until I saw the price
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Don't be a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever!

  13. #13
    Has anyone used the Tridium Drivers/ModbusTcpSlaveNetwork to communicate to a Crestron?
    I am using Device Address as 1. Then I set up the modbus holding registers starting at 40001.

    I gave Crestron the IP address the port that I set in the property sheet of the Module and Crestron is using 01 as their node address (HX) but is not getting any reply from the JACE.

    any help is appreciated.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event