Thread: Trane xl20i design

Post Likes

Trane xl20i design

We have a client who wants an xl20i. We have contracted to install a 3 ton with complete new duct work and MERV 16 filter.

Any tips on this design? We had gone with the match that makes 18.6 SEER, however I have been reading about the latent capacity problems with this oversized coil and am concerned about the performance characteristics.

Any advice? I have installed units for 10 years, but this is the first xl20i and it needs to be perfect. My tech rep has not e mailed me back so I opened it up to you guys.

Please load me up with good info. If you are ignorant or want to make a stupid comment that is not helpful, please go somewhere else and do it.

Post Likes
    I am a installer for my dads air conditioning company and I have put in about 4 of these systems this year already (communicating system). I am not sure what you mean about design...but you have to make sure you have enough return air (extremely important). We always have to add more return air in almost every system we install. We have had nothing but compliments on how the system runs and how much humidity they pull out. Pulling out more humidity means they can leave the t-stat set higher and still be very comfortable....saving on electric!! This may have not helped you but I love the new Trane systems. One thing though....check every wire connection in the condensing unit before you start it up. At least one out of three communicating systems has a loose wire that has fallen off a board due to shipping and it can really throw you off during start up. I had a wire hanging off a the board yesterday in fact. Good luck!!

Post Likes
    is the setting of the dip switches like reading the encyclopedia brittanica ? We are going to design the perfect duct system using manual D software, so I am absolutely confident in that part. Is the communicating system simple to install, of course we do not want to look as if this were our first rodeo.