Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,958

    T7350 stats(Lonspec)

    We have alot of new jobs here lately that have the T350 communicating tstats. Some of them have the WebsAX module, some dont. We are looking at having to pull some of these out because the local rep has some jobs setup where you cant even adjust the thermostat setpoint. Searching the forums I found that these stats use Lonspec. I have a list of other distributors in the area that I can get it from. My question is what will I need besides Lonspec? Any words of advice or insight would be appreciated.
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    709
    Just did a job with about a dozen of them. You will need Lonspec or Honeywell PDA to make configuration changes if necessary. Not too bad but nothing special.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,223
    They can use LONSPEC or LonMaker or NL220 or whomever's Lon network management tool if networked, or as mtnwrech stated a PDA. There's a cable kit for the PDA or you can use the laser in your PDA for wireless PDA to stat communication. Been awhile since I really messed with them, but again nothing special, basically just a T7300 that communicates.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,958
    Will be ordering Lonspec today. What cables or connectors do I need to hook up to the stat?
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,223
    Are the stats already networked?
    If so you just need to tie into the lon via FT-10 by whatever interface gateway may be available - FT10 x ethernet, PCMCIA, usb whatever.
    If not then you'll have to go to each stat and hook up, and in that scenario it would be easier to have a usb/pcmcia interface - like the Echelon u10
    http://www.opensystemsproducts.com/M...ent5=undefined
    or the Loytec NIC USB, which has a few more options http://www.opensystemsproducts.com/M...=LON-INTER-SER

    The cables I mentioned just have to do with the PDA.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,958
    Thanks for keep throwing info in crab. I havent been on the job, one of our regular mechanical service techs have. He gave me a part number of T7350B1002 but the wierd thing is he says the thermostats actually have RJ45 jacks on them, I guess for the PDA interface. I'm not certain if they are networked, customer has said everytime the controls company came they plugged into each tstat with a laptop.
    Last edited by joey791; 03-30-2010 at 03:07 PM. Reason: Networking clarification
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    327
    The T7350B is not a communicating themostat, and therefore does not use LonSpec or any other Lon tool. Some configuration requires a PDA or a PDA simulator on a PC.

    The PDA serial cable plugs into a TIM (thermostat interface module - love those Honeywell acronyms). See the attached for instructions or go to customer.honeywell.com and search for T7350B info. Or ask your Honeywell distributor.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,958
    Does the infra red tim work with laptops?

    Amazing the journey since this morning, I can remember when you need to adjust temps on a thermostat you just pushed the up/down buttons LOL
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,223
    OK - we have the T7350H and they are communicating thermostats. The ones that have the websAX module I would think are communicating thermostats. Last I was aware this is considered their light commercial line so anyone could purchase it through a distributor without a partnership/agreement.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    327
    Yes the T7350H is communicating and available to all buyers.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Laramie, Wy
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by crab master View Post
    . Been awhile since I really messed with them, but again nothing special, basically just a T7300 that communicates.
    Have to disagree with you here. I think these things suck when compared to T7300. The only configuration changes you can make without Lonspec or a PDA is deg F/C and local or remote sensor. They come with some whacked out PID loops that will drive you nuts on cycle rates. This is pretty easy to cure with Lonspec though.

    Nice that you can network them and look at the whole lot at one time but these thermostats are not for the common service tech to install.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dry as a bone Tucson
    Posts
    4,542
    Quote Originally Posted by mtnwrench View Post
    Have to disagree with you here. I think these things suck when compared to T7300. The only configuration changes you can make without Lonspec or a PDA is deg F/C and local or remote sensor. They come with some whacked out PID loops that will drive you nuts on cycle rates. This is pretty easy to cure with Lonspec though.

    Nice that you can network them and look at the whole lot at one time but these thermostats are not for the common service tech to install.

    mtnwrench....what makes you say this? Is the learning curve severe for an old service tech? Reason I ask is i've got a job coming up and have never installed these.
    Some Talk, Some Do
    Energy efficient and economical to operate are not synonyms
    Blog
    Web
    Facebook


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    steeler nation
    Posts
    2,127
    Quote Originally Posted by ACFIXR View Post
    mtnwrench....what makes you say this? Is the learning curve severe for an old service tech? Reason I ask is i've got a job coming up and have never installed these.
    if you have lonspec it is pretty easy to set up. you just select options.

    if your guys dont have laptops or cables you can set it up in lonspec and generate a configuration number.
    that number is entered into a config screen on the stat and its done.

    i've had techs install and get theses things running without a laptop

    here is a screen capture of the config screen.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    IV IV IX

    use your head for something other than a hat rack.......Gerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event