Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    I need advice on a heat register.

    I need to add a register to upstairs bathroom and I will try to provide as much detail as I can...

    I have two 7x7 bath rooms the bath down stairs has a register the bath upstairs does not. The main out take stops right at the down stairs bath and has the round 6in (i think) duct running to the register. I can not run another round duct off of the main out take due to the lack of space. I have considered just removing the down stairs bath register and putting it in the upstairs since the bath rm is directly over the other bath rm but i really would like to keep some heat in that room to avoid freezing pipes and cold seat. SO can I split the regsiters duct? or what options do I have?

    The house is rougly 2000 square feet split even up stairs and down stairs with a carrier tech2000ss.
    down stairs has 5 outtake vents and one guessing about 15x15 intake vent.
    upstairs has 6 outtakes and one large intake return vent in the hall.

    If more info is needed just ask. and thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,707
    if the 6" has plenty of air flow through it then splitting it to feed 2 rooms that small should not be a problem.

    cost should not be that much so it is at least worth a try.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11

    ok thanks

    couple more questions.
    my issue is the wye connection needs to be made at the register right around the floor joist and it is very limited on space. what are the smallest options to perform the split? I dont care to pay to have it installed but I dont want to pay for a service call to be told it cant be done. so I am trying to survey a bit before I even make the first service call.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11
    thanks
    I got it all measured and it will work any good techs in asheville?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SW Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,892
    Quote Originally Posted by cinobyte View Post
    thanks
    I got it all measured and it will work any good techs in asheville?
    Did you mean Nashville, TN?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    11
    nope that would be asheville nc.
    if anyone was local they would know where asheville was is the reason i did not provide more information

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event