I would like to clean up the air in my home for my daughter that suffers from allergies and asthma attacks here in the Northeast.

Which whole house Air filtration and exchange systems or components would you recommend that are effective and of modest cost? Should they be integrated into a Forced Air HVAC ducted system or separate? What about a mechanical media vs an electronic filter, or sticking with portable room HEPA filters?

So far the systems I have come across include Lennox PureAIr, AprilAire, and Therma-stor Ultra-Aire but I am still learning.

TIA

Originally posted by hardwired
    I would like to clean up the air in my home for my daughter that suffers from allergies and asthma attacks here in the Northeast.

Which whole house Air filtration and exchange systems or components would you recommend that are effective and of modest cost? Should they be integrated into a Forced Air HVAC ducted system or separate? What about a mechanical media vs an electronic filter, or sticking with portable room HEPA filters?

So far the systems I have come across include Lennox PureAIr, AprilAire, and Therma-stor Ultra-Aire but I am still learning.

TIA
    This is becoming a FAQ... I personally don't like portable room HEPA filters much due to the noise and expense, and they usually don't have reach (they clean a small area in a loop because the intake and exhaust are so close)
    - Control the relative humidity, keep it below 50%
    - As a test, put a Filtrete MERV 12 filter in your HVAC system and run the system fan continuously (with the windows closed of course). If the symptoms improve, consider getting an Aprilaire 5000 or a Nutone Guardian Plus system installed. Don't let that Filtrete filter in there more than a few weeks because it clogs up quickly. The advantage of the Guardian Plus is that it can be installed to run independently of the HVAC system, and silently output all the clean air in the bedroom of the allergic person (I like that).