Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pay rate

Exclamation

Maybe I am wrong but the test in N.C. for refrigeration license is 6 1/2 hours. It is a difficult test, but the pay in this area is pitiful. I have 5 yrs experience and most companies say they will hire me, but for 14-15 dollars per hour. Does the HVAC side pay more than the Refrigeration side?

here in KY......

i guess so,cause i make abit more than that and i dont do any refrigeration....good luck

go to chicago area and good techs are earning 25-35 per hour.

Thank you very much. All I can figure is that people are wanted in the refrigeration side, but the money is not there. They don't seem to trust anyone, they want to hire you low at first then they claim they will raise the salary. I don't seem to understand why? What is the logic to that?

Simple

The logic to that is that everyone who manages to pass a simple CFC handlers certification thinks they are service techs. hiring at a low rate gives the employer a week or two to determine if the service tech he just hire can even find the TXV much less replace it.
    It is completely exceptable for employers to give you a SHORT trial period.
    The bottom line is if you start at 20.00 hr you had better be bringing in more then 60.00 hr and keeping call-backs to a minimum.
    If you can do that in your first 2 weeks you should have no trouble making an employer feel he/she has made the right decision hiring you and give you the money you deserve. If you think the employer is just looking for something for nothing then ask if your pay increase can be retroactive once you finish the trial.
    A woman has the last word in any argument
    Anything a man says after that is the beginning of a new argument.