York YD Problems

I service and maintain a high profile contract and I need some advise, guidance and assistance.
    I have (4) 2500 and (2) 1250 ton York YD's on site. I have been maintaining these guys for three years. I have encountered a fair amount of problems that I have been able to review the manuals and work out ok but last year I had a VGD shaft bind up. It was an easy enough fix with a new shaft and related "o" rings. Towards the end of last season I had a PRV shaft bind in another unit. It will be an easy fix as well after I remove 6,000 lbs of 134a as the same basic engineering went into both devices as related to there shaft to housing design.
    My question is are we seeing this happen as a result of poor internal lubrication? Oil is always at approx 120 degrees and 35psi by variable oil drive speed and seals lubed at 24 hr intervals per processor when standing by. Not sure tonight of exact hrs but units are 5 yrs old and maybe 30,000 hrs. Anybody else noticing similar problems? Any York upgrades know for fix? All feedback welcome, thanks
    Last edited by aceairman; 03-05-2010 at 09:34 PM.

When you say they were bound up with all linkage disconnected the arms don't move free on either prv or vgd they should be smooth.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

Could you provide a full M/N for the Chillers so I know what compressor we are discussing there is a SB on the J3 & J4 compressors for the PRV but I believe yours are newer style.
    mud.

25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !