Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes

    Duct smoke detector

    Hi,
    For 2000 cfm and higher,
    Do we need duct smoke det in main supply plenum only
    Or also needed one in main return plenum???

    Thank you

  2. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13,090
    Post Likes
    I typically install them in the return.

  4. Likes lkapigian, DavidDeBord liked this post
  5. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    181
    Post Likes
    I think alot will depend on your location."local codes"I know in hospitals around here I just installed right after the AH on the supply. And as long as they are smoke detectors in the rooms that it's feeding just in the supply should be fine.

    Sent from my junky 5054W dumb phone using Tapatalk

  6. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  7. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,595
    Post Likes
    Cannot install in the return in some countys in this area, others you can, my personal opinion is none should ever be installed in the supply with electric heaters. First time on for the year they are bound to trip but hey, its an easy service call:-)

    But yes all agree around here that 5 tons and under do not require them.

  8. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH, DavidDeBord liked this post
  9. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by TAMAS View Post
    Hi,
    in a Californian project,
    For 2000 cfm and higher,
    Do we need duct smoke det in main supply plenum only
    Or also needed one in main return plenum???

    Thank you
    also, note that, 2016 Calif Mech Clode: 608 says install SD in supply the return one is insurance.....

  10. Likes DavidDeBord liked this post
  11. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,015
    Post Likes
    I've always installed them, here in S.W. Ohio in the Return air duct, & also wired them to drop the power via the 24V to the unit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.