static pressure reset
Page 1 of 9 12345678 ... LastLast

static pressure reset

Hey guys I wanted to get some feedback on your experiences with duct static pressure reset routines.

When I am done with the TAB contactor, I'll already have a duct static setpoint that correlates to the largest volume VAV being about 80% open with all VAV's at maximum CFM setpoint. Then in low cooling/ventilation load days the duct static will be reduced incrementally up to xx% (??) until the VAV is back to 80% open. I don't see any value in increasing the duct static setpoint beyond the TAB setpoint. Do I have this correct? What is the maximum % used as a static pressure setpoint reduction?

Thanks!

Maybe its just me but I like to keep things on the simply side. Usually a constant 1.5 inches w.c. 2/3 down the duct works fine.
    Then again I'm not a programmer.

"reduced incrementally" doesn't mean increasing the setpoint. It think they mean to lower the setpoint by increments of a negative number.

Where I'm located the diversity factor varies greatly from engineer to engineer, but in most cases there's no way in hell the air handler can provide enough air to satisfy all boxes at max cfm.

What we usually do is reset the duct static pressure setpoint between 0.75" and 1.5" based on the worst damper position being at 95%.

The idea is, if the worst zone can satisfy its max cfm requirements at 95% open, why try to maintain a higher duct static? The trick is setting a pi loop slow enough to adjust this setpoint, thus maintaining the worst zone at 95% without hunting all over the place.

The controlled variable is the max damper position, the setpoint is 95% (or 80% in your case), and the output of this direct acting PI loop is linked to a ratio or reset block so that 0-100% = low spt - high spt (e.g. 0.75" -1.5")

I like Digo's thinking. Generally I am resetting about the same ratio's, a few I was able to go down to 0.6" w.c.