Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7

    Aux heat on a LOT

    I have a Carrier Performance system and the Aux is on a LOT. Example: the other morning it was on about every 10 min. in one hour's time. It was a cold morning (about 39 degrees). The other night it was on when the outside temp was 60. It does not seem right that the Aux is on so much. I understand the defrost may cause the aux to run, however, on and off every ten minutes and on and off when the OAT is in the 40's, 50's, 60's seems a bit much. T-stat was changed out and is still a Carrier stat. Any ideas? Was told that the Carrier stat is used because it is an 8 wire. Any ideas on that? Would really appreciate any thoughts.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by jal View Post
    I have a Carrier Performance system and the Aux is on a LOT. Example: the other morning it was on about every 10 min. in one hour's time. It was a cold morning (about 39 degrees). The other night it was on when the outside temp was 60. It does not seem right that the Aux is on so much. I understand the defrost may cause the aux to run, however, on and off every ten minutes and on and off when the OAT is in the 40's, 50's, 60's seems like a lot. T-stat was changed out and is still a Carrier stat. Any ideas? Was told that the Carrier stat is used because it is an 8 wire. Would really appreciate any thoughts.

    Time to go to the yellow pages and look for, um, a heating contractor.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland.OR
    Posts
    313

    Lots of choices here

    When was the last time it was serviced? Freon low? 39 maybe below your outside temp setting.. Outside thermostat could be bad. Back door left open..
    guess not huh!! loose wiring..

    Call your favorite tech!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7

    new unit

    This is a new one so not a clue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,733
    Your heat pump is not working, and the aux elect strips are doing all
    the work. Need to get the hp checked out.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7

    New unit

    This is a new unit and am told it is ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by jal View Post
    This is a new unit and am told it is ok.

    Told by who? Definitely not a pro. Call someone, you will not get free help here. We rely on this to feed our family. Do you give free help in your profession or do you charge for it?

    No DO IT YOURSELF.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by jal View Post
    This is a new one so not a clue.
    Double posts are frowned upon as well. See my other reply.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Told by the installers. Second t-stat. How do you know the difference when aux is running for defrost or to heat to try to keep up?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Quote Originally Posted by jal View Post
    Told by the installers. Second t-stat. How do you know the difference when aux is running for defrost or to heat to try to keep up?
    Good question for them or their senior service tech. Bad question for me because I can't help.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thank you for the info. Posted the other first - i am new here.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Barrie, Ontario
    Posts
    4,622
    When a heat pump goes into defrost and is working normally, you can hear the outside unit running but the fan on top of the outside unit shuts off.

    Otherwise the fan should be on whenever the outside unit is on.

    You may need a second opinion from a reputable company to figure out what's going on.
    Is this a Fabreze moment? C.Y.D. I'm voting white elephant. 2’.
    My competition are my best salespeople!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,880
    Call the owner of the installing company and tell him whats going on.
    Its not working right.


    I moved the post from your other thread to this one. And deleted the other thread.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event