Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Job satisfaction?

Do you guys get any satisfaction out of doing control work?

Back when I worked as an electrician I could look at a wall of panels and say that looked great and got a feeling of pride.

When I used to work as an HVAC mechanic I got some satisfaction, although minimal, fixing stuff. I would get more satisfaction when running refrig piping.

Programing/working with controls I get no real feeling of satisfation or pride. I feel as though I run from putting out one fire to the next without any tangable proof of workmanship. I don't think I ever hear anything positve. Stuff either works and you hear nothing or something doesn't(generally stops working) and you hear complaints. I used to have fun figuring stuff out but those feelings have past a couple years ago.

What work would you guys do if you could start over again?

waterways conservation officer.
    IV IV IX

use your head for something other than a hat rack.......Gerry

Bus driver

Was in the teaching end of things before this. Last week I had dinner with some college instructors that I worked with. One asked me if I ever would consider going back to teach at the college (He was not impressed with some of the younger instructors lined up to take over from the old guys.)

Trying to decide if I want to go back, There might be an opening in the fall for me.

You need to put all three together. That's really the way this field works. I've been doing controls most of my life except when the presonal computer showed up in our field and a new type of being started showing up on job sites that pretty much knew nothing aobut HVAC or controls but lots about computers and programming.

Put all three fields together and life will get very interesting again. You will be challenged by the pure electrical side, enlightened by the refrigertion side and frustrated almost on a continued basis by the new types of control side folks and all their self justifying gadgets.