Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55

    Bacnet MSTP Polling in Jace

    I am getting a "Transaction Timeout: invoke ID XXX" on several polled points in a Bacnet MSTP application in a 404 using 3.4. About 24 devices on the comm port and 65 total between 3 ports in use. Default tuning policy. Defaults on everything. Normal polling rate. Should I adjust my polling rate?

    This has very few polled points. Maybe 200 total. Most are COV.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,459
    I'd suggest sniffing the MS/TP port during the these timeouts. We can all guess as to what the problem is but when you actually look at the data the problem generally reveals itself right away.

    Also, is this Jace directly on the MS/TP port, or are there any routers in between?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55
    No routers. What do you mean by sniffing? I have the app director output showing the errors.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,459
    I mean actually look at the raw data on the MS/TP line via a comm-port-based protocol analyzer. That way you can watch all of the traffic in real time including tokens, data requests, data answers, broadcasts, etc. That way you can see if the unit really is timing out or if the jace is requesting it of a non-existent unit, or if it's answering too late and causing a collision, etc.

    Someone else here might have a more concise definition of "Sniffing" but it basically means that you monitor the data without modifying or directing it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    21
    AXR2- What did you find out about the polling Rate? I am having the same issues currently, Trunk is extremely slow and devices Status are constantly going down.
    Any help would be appreciated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,475
    Quote Originally Posted by Lapham636 View Post
    Any help would be appreciated.
    poor choice of wire.
    EOL.
    conflicting MACs.

    ...no point sniffing for comms you cant get !
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    21
    Wire, MAC, and EOL all Checked out. I am Using Alerton Controllers and when i hook up the Field Service Tool (Alerton FST-100) I can read all controllers no problem. As soon as i put the trunk back on the Jace-6 communication goes flat. There are no BCM's.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,240
    may be a baud rate issue, related to auto baud mechanism of vlcs.
    similar issues were reported. solution seems to be power down vlcs and put jace on the bus and power up each vlc one at a time. may be give that a try.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    21
    That Does/Did Work...however i am not on site! Was wishing for a "oh yah just set the X-parameter to xxx, and ALL your problems are solved"

    I do have VLC's that are coming in and out of communication, Previously when i cycled the VLC's once they were "on" they stayed that way.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    634
    Try adjusting your APDU timeout also. Ive noticed that helps when I have controllers going on and off line.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    21
    Amigo, I noticed that the VLC's that is giving me the biggest headache are the 444's, the 853, 1188, 550, vavih-sd and 1688 don't have to cycle power to them to get going. Any thoughts on this?
    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,240
    I have not used 444s, so can't really say.
    As I said, your problem may be related to auto baud.
    Don't think there is a quick fix for this.
    what baud rate is your jace driver set to?
    I would try making your poll rate policy quicker for the 444s just as a test and see what happens.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    117
    What is your busy time on the trunk having the problem?? How many normal polls?? On a big site I try get the busy time below 80%. I make different tuning policy's for the schedule, and fast polls, and apply them to the points needed. You can tune your network by slowly increasing the rates of all the three choices,normal,fast,slow. Example Fast 1 to 3 normal 5 to 7 slow 10 to 12. Then reset your poll statistics and watch. Repeat the steps to decrease your busy time. I have had good luck with that process.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event