Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 37

Thread: cvhe 032g

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758

    cvhe 032g

    Hey guys,
    Wondering if anyone has an IOM I could get my hands on M# CVHE032G
    S#L86D37502. We just picked up this account with this chiller and she is probably mid 80's I think. It is a bit different than what I am used to. Anyone have info that might be useful for this model? I have to do a leak check the purge runs all the time. Still R-11 but has a new starter control
    M# CVRD1F3DAF01FFFB100151110100 S# L07F03099.
    My big concern with the new control panel is that I might need the software to work with it? Is this true? It is now the Tracer CH531 Controls or CH530.
    My other question is how do you guys normally get the heads on the condenser? Chain fall? This is probably the dumbest setup but the equipment is sitting on a pad just wide enough for the equipment to sit on. But the pad is 3 foot tall and I have no clue as to why the put it that high. Perfect height to clean tubes and not bed over?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    1,848
    1986 vintage CVHE formally classic black panel and now has CH530 controls . You will need the software and techview if you want to get into the controls set up but it is not absolutely a requirement unless you have problems.
    As far as the header is concerned go buy a 2 long bolts the same size as the header bolts (1/2") probably and use one in the eye bolt hole as a handle and the other goes in one of the low holes and roll it off to one side its only an 032 its not heavy.
    Good luck Graham.
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    341
    Check your email.
    Graham is right about the cond head on the nonconnected end.(That is the way I do it on small machines)
    If you need both ends off on nonmarine it may be a little more involved.
    Techview can be downloaded free of charge from Trane.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758
    guys thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758
    does this model have a common problem that I should be aware of? This unit was overhauled 2 yrs ago. What kind of life are you seeing out of these units?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    1,848
    The CVHE has been around for a long time . It has had a lot of design changes over the years but is still basically the same chiller as it was in the beginning. Hopefully you have an updated purge unit on it ?? . Keep it well maintained ,leak free it will serve you well for many years to come . There are lots of the original CVHE"s alive and kicking today still purring along ,most have been upgraded with new controls ,purges and ruptureguards etc .
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nunya
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by HvAckid82 View Post
    does this model have a common problem that I should be aware of? This unit was overhauled 2 yrs ago. What kind of life are you seeing out of these units?
    Well if this machine was just overhauled 2 years ago, all of your basics should have already been covered . I dont know who did the work, but if it was your local Trane office they would have re-gasketed the entire machine, rebuilt the tang operator, replace or rebuild oil regulator, these are the usual suspects for leaks. When you said that the "purge runs all the time" did you mean that is is pumping out or just the compressor running? Was a new purge installed with CH531 or at the time of the Overhual?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Western Wa
    Posts
    1,757
    Keep an extra set of shorts around for the first time you get a good surge going.

    God Bless the USA

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    North Florida/South Georgia
    Posts
    984

    The Work Horse

    Good machine (design hasn't changed much in years) but that vintage was not extremely efficient. It's not terrible but "I'm just sayin".

    Also, if it has not had a refrigerant pump added to it then I would make the condenser water is kept warm enough so you can maintain at least 6 PSID (refrigerant pressure) between the condenser & the cooler. Any less & you may start to experience motor cooling problems & as well as some oil recovery issues.

    For example: Cooler pressure might be 14" which is about the same as -7PSIG. Therefore, I would not suggest a condenser pressure any lower than -1PSIG. You may have to experiment a little to discover the upset point which could actually be 7 or 8 for all I know, but these numbers should be pretty close.
    All my leon freaked out!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758
    the purge runs all of the time, there is a leak and we will be heading there sometime soon to hunt for it. Thanks for the replies and the local train office did the overhaul.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In a Pineapple Under the Sea
    Posts
    149
    Just because the purge is running does not mean it has a leak. It may just mean that it is set on "on" or you still could have a good size leak in Adaptive mode but not big enough to put it in Max Pumpout Exceeded alarm. What type of purge unit is on it, original, purifier, earthwise, it does matter? How many pumpout minutes/day is the purge doing? Once you start having more than 12 minutes/day you are starting to get excessive. The Purifiers and Earthwise retrofit purges have a Max Pumpout alarm setting that would shut the purge unit off if it exceeded the Max pumpout setting in a 24hr peroid. The maximun setting on this was 100 minutes on the Purifiers and 50 minutes on the Earthwise. So if you do have a retrofit purge on it and beings that it is running all the time would be a good thing possibly, since it is not in alarm, but you could still have a leak but it's just not big enough to trip the alarm yet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758
    Hey guys,
    Just got to the site today to start the leak checking. Worked on that for a few hours, found nothing, and jumped into some other things. We just picked up the account so I hate taking someones word that there is a leak or such and such problem. Experience has told me those people are usually wrong so I started from the beginning.
    Fired the chiller up and it ran for approx 3 min. High side was at 11 psi and low side at 1.5" HG and shut down on "High Condenser Pressure". Question what is the switch set at? 11 psi? I do not have the software or hardware to hook up to this controller Tracer CH531 M# CVRD1F3DAF01FFFB100151110100. If i give the local Trane guys the info I will be able to get the software and cables from them?
    After the unit tripped I pulled the head off the condenser and check the tubes, clean as a whistle, so I checked the purge and it runs while the chiller run. Purge M# PRGBA001AA01 S#L93C03126. Now this is the first time the chiller has run all winter. Well I blew out the bottom of the cylinder (forget technical term) of the purge unit and not much came out.
    Now I started chiller again and it continued to run. It ran for an hour and it was time to clean up but I got some info not much and what I had was
    Set point 45.4
    Evap EWT 63 LWT 62
    Cond EWT 74 LWT 76
    High side pressure 7 psig
    Low side pressure 7" Hg
    48% average line amps out of 95%
    Thats all.
    One thing was that the evap water temp would not drop below 62 and it didn't look like it was loading up at all. Hot gas bypass was open entire time. I guess I need my laptop and software to see deeper in the unit??

    Also on the main screen next to Chiller Mode: It said Running-Limit >> Condeser Pressure Limit.....Could not find info any thoughts?
    Thanks guys,
    Chris

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In a Pineapple Under the Sea
    Posts
    149
    Don't worry about a laptop, just a pressure gauge, a PT chart and some temp readings.

    Could be air but you only have a 2 td on the cond water and that is dirty tubes but then you were only running at 48%. Both will cause it to run in condenser limit. Could be one or the other or both.

    We need the following to further diagnose. Take readings after operation is stabilized. If you have to set the current limit setpoint down to sustain operation so reading can be taken.

    Take your condenser pressure with a pressure guage and don't use the condenser pressure reading on the ch530 for this. Get yourself at least a 4" round 30" to 30 psi compound guage if it does not have accurate guages on it. A set of manifold gauges is worthless on this.

    Saturated condensing temperature. CH530 reading is fine

    Entering and leaving condenser water temps. CH530 reading is fine

    Then post back.


    The software Techview is a free downlload on Trane.com and the cable is a 9 pin male X female serial cable available anywhere that sells computer stuff.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event