Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    17

    Programing Honeywell Vision PRO 8000?

    Model is TH832OU1008. I believe what the current program is if the room temp is -2 degrees below the set room temp the EMER heat strips kick in to bring up heat up quickly. Can this be changed? How? Can this be set to say 10 degrees difference between room temp & set temp before EMER heat strips kick in with this thermostat? ( Rheem PRQL-024JEZ W/ RHLL-HM2417JA)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,399
    Can't do that. Add an outdoor sensor and lock off strips in milder weather.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Wow. I sure wouldn't want my place to drop from 70 to 60 before my aux heat came on. That isn't comfortable.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,821
    FYI..... call them heat strips or AUX heaters

    EMER heat is another setting that turns off the heat pump and heats with only strips.

    BaldLoonie gave a great suggestion. The only problem is...a few degrees below 40 (outdoor) and it allows the strips again. You cant select a colder setting than 40 with your thermostat. But you will still benefit from the sensor...its just I was disapointed that it only went to 40.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Quote Originally Posted by amasuperbike View Post
    FYI..... call them heat strips or AUX heaters

    EMER heat is another setting that turns off the heat pump and heats with only strips.

    BaldLoonie gave a great suggestion. The only problem is...a few degrees below 40 (outdoor) and it allows the strips again. You cant select a colder setting than 40 with your thermostat. But you will still benefit from the sensor...its just I was disapointed that it only went to 40.
    Get an IAQ thermostat and you can set it as low as 5F.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,821
    I knew it got lower but all the way to 5? that isnt the comp lockout is it?
    I figure the OP wouldnt want to change to a IAQ anyway....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Quote Originally Posted by amasuperbike View Post
    I knew it got lower but all the way to 5? that isnt the comp lockout is it?
    I figure the OP wouldnt want to change to a IAQ anyway....
    Thats aux lock out.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,821
    Impressive.....I know we differ on quite how cold a HP will still perform....just curious...whats your recommended lockout temp? Since it rarely gets much below freezing here i set up older 10 seers to 40 and newer units to 35. I know you have to take customers comfort in mind...but im sure you have a recommendation thats a good balance of comfort/economy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    5 before thermal balance point.

    If thermal balance point is 30, then aux lock out should be set to 35.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,821
    How do you know the balance point of every matchup? Is there a formula?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    You need the spec/tech guide for the unit. And the load calc of the house.

    Then do a plot on graph paper.

    If your installing a new thermostat for a customer. And you didn't put the system in.
    Then you have to guess. or do a load calc(never meet a customer that would pay for a load calc, just to have a thermostat set up right).

    How good your are at guessing determines if you get a call back for not enough heat later.
    And if it saves them a lot of money.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,821
    Ok I think I understand...Basically we compare the Btu/hr of the HP at a OD temp
    then compare how much the home is letting in

    Balance point is where two lines intersect?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Quote Originally Posted by amasuperbike View Post
    Ok I think I understand...Basically we compare the Btu/hr of the HP at a OD temp
    then compare how much the home is letting in

    Balance point is where two lines intersect?

    Yes, thats it.

    And the graph is just done on a paper like this:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event