Thread: Humidifier model question

Post Likes

Humidifier model question

I just had a contrator over to give an estimate for installing a humidifier in my home (suburbs of Denver and very dry). I've done some research including reading many forum posts here.

House: Built 2003, 2400 sq ft, gas furnace with central air, unfinished basement ~700 sq ft.

The contractor gave me a quote for an Aprilaire 700. I mentioned that I've read the 600 would be sufficient but he dismissed that outright. I also asked if the 700 would have an outdoor thermometer. He said no because it would also need a controller board and IAQ thermostat.

Based on what I've read, that doesn't sound right but I'm not an HVAC person (I was an electrician in a previous life). I'd like to hear what you all think and yes I'll be getting a second estimate.

Thanks,

Chuck

Post Likes
    Get another contractor. Or educate this one. guess what will be easier.

The 600 M will do fine for your ize home. Unless you have more then average air leakage into your house.

Post Likes
    Yea, this one ain't too sharp!

600 & 700 have similar capacity. We use the 600 if at all possible. Simple, no motors or boards. If you want outdoor sensor capability, get a 600A or 700A.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    Yea, this one ain't too sharp!

600 & 700 have similar capacity. We use the 600 if at all possible. Simple, no motors or boards. If you want outdoor sensor capability, get a 600A or 700A.

LOL. The 600 is only about a ½ pint an hour less then the 700.

if that ½ pint makes the difference between maintaining the humidity in a 2400 sq ft house or not.
    You have a lot of easy house sealing you can do to make it work.

Hmmm, That was suppose to be an A in my other post. need more coffee

Post Likes