Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Infinity Remote Access port forwarding?

I have a Carrier Infinity thermostat with the Remote Access Module. I signed up with Carrier's Remote Access web site which allows me to control my furnace via their web site. It's very cool because this furnace is in our vacation home. But, I have two problems:

1- The Carrier remote access website is down more often than I would like (it's down right now)
    2- It costs $100/year to use their web site to control my furnace

I can access my Infinity thermostat while I'm at my vacation home by entering the IP address (in my case it's 192.168.1.102). I've set the IP address as static. I used port forwarding on my router to set up a wireless web camera and it works great. I'm now trying to open up a port for the Infinity thermostat but I'm not able to access the thermostat using the same port forwarding technique. I'm a total novice with this network stuff and I know just enough to get things to work with no understanding of why it works.

Does anybody know if it's possible to control a Carrier Infinity Remote Access module using port forwarding on a router? If I can get this to work I won't need to rely on the Carrier website to control my thermostat (and I'll save $100/year).

Thanks for any help you can provide!
    Brian

Has anybody else tried port forwarding with the Infinity Remote Access Module?

I've sold 2 of these things and couldn't agree more, Carrier has dropped the ball with that crummy website. Who needs to see a huge picture of some random breakfast nook taking up 90% of the page!? The important data is so small you need a magnifying glass. Haven't updated the copyright since 2006!! Embarrassing!

They could data log and suddenly it would be worth the hundred a year. Page needs to be redesigned to at least show all zones at once.
    Which makes more sense to you?
    CONSERVATION - turning your thermostat back and being uncomfortable. Maybe saving 5-10%