Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13

    Newbie T'stat Question

    I just replaced an old Honeywell thermostat with a new Honeywell RTH230B. I have hot water baseboard heat, no AC - a 2 wire installation. For some reason it works in heating mode but never shuts off when it reached the set point.

    Any idea what is wrong? Do I have the wires reversed? They are installed the same way they were on the last thermostat.

    Thanks in advance for the help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    249
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    I just replaced an old Honeywell thermostat with a new Honeywell RTH230B. I have hot water baseboard heat, no AC - a 2 wire installation. For some reason it works in heating mode but never shuts off when it reached the set point.

    Any idea what is wrong? Do I have the wires reversed? They are installed the same way they were on the last thermostat.

    Thanks in advance for the help.
    How did you decide on that stat?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    I just needed a simple stat with 4 periods per day and 5-2 day setting. It was relatively cheap and same make as my old stat.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    249
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    I just needed a simple stat with 4 periods per day and 5-2 day setting. It was relatively cheap and same make as my old stat.
    I would verify the new stat is the right stat.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    Its pretty generic and my system is quite simple...1 boiler, no ac, 4 zones, 4 pumps...on or off basically.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    249
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    Its pretty generic and my system is quite simple...1 boiler, no ac, 4 zones, 4 pumps...on or off basically.
    If you put your old stat on and your system still works, its safe to say it's your wiring or a bad stat. right? I can't think of anything else to say without getting into troubleshooting.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Pan Handle, Fl
    Posts
    599
    There should be an help phone number in yhr back of your manual, they should be able to answer your questions and help you.
    Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different outcome!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    when I was wiring the new stat I did see a spark when I accidentally touched a screwdriver to the W terminal Do you think that could have anything to do with it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    I switched the jumper on the inside and she works fine now. I will keep an eye on her to make sure.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    I switched the jumper on the inside and she works fine now. I will keep an eye on her to make sure.
    Are we still talking about a Tstat?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    when I was wiring the new stat I did see a spark when I accidentally touched a screwdriver to the W terminal Do you think that could have anything to do with it?
    Why would you leave the power on when you are wiring something? That's just asking for problems.

    I know. It was a "short" cut.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,123
    Quote Originally Posted by Trog View Post
    Why would you leave the power on when you are wiring something? That's just asking for problems.

    I know. It was a "short" cut.
    No.
    He was getting ready to race, and only wanted to practice on a short circuit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    north of 49
    Posts
    233
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydestone View Post
    I just replaced an old Honeywell thermostat with a new Honeywell RTH230B. I have hot water baseboard heat, no AC - a 2 wire installation. For some reason it works in heating mode but never shuts off when it reached the set point.

    Any idea what is wrong? Do I have the wires reversed? They are installed the same way they were on the last thermostat.

    Thanks in advance for the help.
    There are other reasons besides your stat that will keep the system operating when the stat is satisfied. Best you get it looked at

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event