Trane 2 stage anygood

Is trane 2 stage any good? Here is the story.
    I have a Carrier heat pump downstairs and Janitrol upstairs with an evaporator leak. Want to take advantage of the stimulus bill for upstairs with a Rheem 16 seer two stage. I am a Gen Contractor and can get the best deal on the rheem if I buy the equipment. I have a good installer. And if ever I replace the Carrier I will go with a Rheem to match this new upstairs and especially since the stimulus will be over and the better deal. Because of price that maybe a single stage since stimulus price.
    But the very best installer I know is a Trane dealer and I will have to ask if he will install a Rheem. He will at least try to talk me into a Trane and I will at least consider it with the price but expect it to be more.

Neighbor recently talk to this guy and he said completely forget about the Trane 2 stage, they are not worth it as they have had a lot of problems.

I discounted Carrier since they only have one dealer in the area, price would be on the high end. And the only problem I have had with my 11 year old Carrier is the blower motor went out after about 8 years and the part was twice as much since tech could only get the variable speed motor from carrier. But also I was running it fan 24 hours for a couple of years since I heard from someone that it does not take much electric to do this since on low speed and would help filter the air more. Of course stopped doing that when I realized not worth the extra wear & tear on the blower motor.
    But the Carrier is a TECH 2000, which I think is also a two stage outdoor unit. Based on my info this would mean Carrier made a two stage 11 years ago with no problems and Trane cant make one yet.

So thought I would ask what the people with more experience think.

Thanks for any info.

It wasn't running the motor 24/7 that caused it to go out.
    Something else happened to it.

2 stage has been out for more then 20 years.