Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17

Thread: Weather Forcast

  1. #1

    Weather Forcast

    Anybody know of a weather device/program that makes the forcast temperatrue available thru BACnet, or simillar communication? I can get current conditions for free, but I am unable to find anything that makes the forcast available. Purchasing a device is not an issue.

  2. #2
    The weather service in AX does it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,474
    Tridium JACE will do it
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,474
    Jinx
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,698
    Freeware:

    BACnet Weather & Time

    kontrol out
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Open protocols? You can't handle open protocols!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7fjDS0jKiE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16
    Hey thanks phreak for the link!!! had wondered about using something like this

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,474
    can you get ANY bacnet controller running this weather program.??
    ...just like, asking ... you know.

    LOL
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    can you get ANY bacnet controller running this weather program.??
    ...just like, asking ... you know.

    LOL
    LOL...........WUT????

    BACnet controllers can get data from this application running on a computer that has Weather Exchange running and a interwebby connection that is not already using the standard BACnet port for another application.

    kontrol out
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Open protocols? You can't handle open protocols!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7fjDS0jKiE

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,474
    * grumble Bacnet $#@! *

    so it isnt platform independent.
    wont run on different vendor's hardware
    and hogs the standard Bacnet port.
    ...i dont know how many controls guys can compile C just like that
    ...maybe ythey should simply trust a precompiled one from the Interwebs??
    ...drop that baby right in the middle of a corporate network

    ...WUT???
    1 + 1 = 3 ( *** for very large values of 1)

    ...everybody wants a box of chocolates and long stemmed rose

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,698
    Ey, if it works for your application use it. If not, don't. Was just trying to help the guy out. Another solution could be to buy a JACE and use AX.

    Kontrol out
    "Open is as open does." - Forrest Gump
    "Can't we all just get a Lon?" - Garry Jack
    "BACnet: integration or interrogation?" - The Janitor
    "Open protocols? You can't handle open protocols!" - Nathan R. Jessup
    “What’s that? Aaa… open protocols? Don’t talk about…. open protocols? Are you kidding me? Open protocols? I just hope we can hardwire an interface!” - Jim Mora http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7fjDS0jKiE

  11. #11
    Weather Exchange doesn't export the forcast as part of it's data. It's great for getting wind direction and speed, but otherwise useless.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    103
    kontrol

    I am new to BACnet and working on learning as much as possible. I work almost strictly with Carrier right now and I am using iVu for the BACnet. I am trying to setup a weather station page so I downloaded the bacweather program. I had found it earlier but decided to try it after you recommended it. I have ambient running on my desktop and have the CSV file in the same folder as bacweather and started the bacweather.exe. I am a little foggy on where to go from here but it may be because I am not on the IP side of my computer right now and just connecting to a controller through USB485. If I have the bacweather.exe running on a computer connected to the IP and I look for the bacnet device listed in the readme it should show up in my discovered networks and then the values will show up under that? From there all I should have to do is translate the CSV Values file to populate my program with what the CSV file reads?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    311
    Quote Originally Posted by mcguire07 View Post
    kontrol

    I am new to BACnet and working on learning as much as possible. I work almost strictly with Carrier right now and I am using iVu for the BACnet. I am trying to setup a weather station page so I downloaded the bacweather program. I had found it earlier but decided to try it after you recommended it. I have ambient running on my desktop and have the CSV file in the same folder as bacweather and started the bacweather.exe. I am a little foggy on where to go from here but it may be because I am not on the IP side of my computer right now and just connecting to a controller through USB485. If I have the bacweather.exe running on a computer connected to the IP and I look for the bacnet device listed in the readme it should show up in my discovered networks and then the values will show up under that? From there all I should have to do is translate the CSV Values file to populate my program with what the CSV file reads?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    How about the canned weather add on from ALC/Carrier.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event