Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    Just mount on top of the unit!!




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    2,216
    That is like my grandparents unit that had a hard start kit mounted to the outsided as well. Nicec pic, crap work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    526
    haha should say "mcgyver was here"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    11

    Angry

    that is just ridiculous never seen such a thing. The homeoowner didnt say anything about that? Or was that why you were there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Rogers,Minnesota
    Posts
    638
    Nice job-I guess routing the wires back inside the vestibule was too time consuming.Plus-you want something to catch little kids eyes so they go play with it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    Well luckily this is on a rooftop, condo building, so the owner has probably not seen it, no kids around either. I wasnt there to work on this particular unit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    293
    HAHA hell even I know how moronic that is and I'm still schoolin'.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Swampy Florida
    Posts
    206

    Wink

    Gotta give the guy credit, at least he didn't mount it to the fan blade.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    NICE :-)

    Not too mention the 300+ Volts accross the run cap when the motor is running would wake somebody up!

    I've NEVER seen anyone install one on top of the unit like that.

    I am one who likes to put the fan run cap back in it's original place. I HATE having to reach for the run caps hung underneath the fan by some slacker (not that we all didn't do that at one point). Some people just don't understand how simple a run cap is to wire. They use the universal motor and think they have to use BOTH of the brown wires so they tape or zip tie it next to the motor. I cut off the brown with the white stripe and connect the brown wire to the original location.

    HACKS! :-P

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    55
    is that metal tape wrapped around the connections

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    Not foil tape...just plain old silver duct tape

    This pic proves zip-ties and duct tape can be dangerous in the wrong hands

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    9,935
    Oh, come on!!!

  13. #13
    Come on Swamp, you had some spare time and wanted a pic on here, thats a rig job aint it.......lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event