Water dripping from ceiling air vents on 2nd floor....

I have a 2 story house, each floor with it's own zone/heatpump.

I'm not running the heat upstairs, and I keep all the doors closed to the rooms upstairs.

I have the thermostat set around 50 degress. There is an air handler in the attic, and I noticed around the air vents in two rooms, water was dripping out of the vents and the drywall was wet around the ceiling vents.

I went up in the attic, which is probably 40 degress my guess, and removed the duct from the vent in the ceiling and there was water in the duct. Not a ton of water, but enought to drip out. How could this happen? It's winter here in PA and I have't been running the upstairs unit.... Thoughts?
    Attached Images Attached Images    

If I had to guess (which I do because I really don't know) I would say that warm air from your house is hitting cold air in the attic causing condensation. Again, I'm no expert, but I'd say that your duct work doesn't look like it's attached particularly well to your vent boxes... It'll be interesting to see what the experts say.

Heath

The attic will become very cold (attic 40F during the day when sun is up). It seems that you have a square diffuser box which may or may not be insulated internally. In any case, add more insulation to the exposed box in attic and foam-seal the gap between the box and ceiling dry wall so that the warmer 2nd floor room air won't leak into attic and condensate. This is still not going to be enough, because the room air can get into the diffuser box through the vent and condensate, unless you tape shut the entire vent.

you will need to leave on the 2nd fl heat, which will dry out any condensate. Or, tape seal all vents on 2nd floor.