Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 32
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Lititz, PA (Lit' itz) not ( Li' titz)
    Posts
    122
    You could get your contractor to put on the climatemaster tstat with programmable set backs. The new tstat has a logarithm feature that will monitor the increase in temp and time periods which ultimately means the stat is smart and wont bring the back up on

    But I do have a question to ponder. You are saving money already why dont you keep your comfort level and dont set back your temp? just ponder I dont need an answer

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    It is a comfort thing for me, I actually like it to be about 2 degrees cooler at night when I am in bed with my big comforter on. Yes, I know, a little TMI. I know I lose a little efficiency, but I am losing more than I should with the aux heat coming on with only a one degree difference (switched to 1 degree from two a while ago to do some testing).

    This morning, it was saying 68/68 (inside/set to) with Aux Heat On for a while, so I set it down one degree and it said 68/67 and the Heat stayed on. Shouldn't that have registered as a met condition? Took 10 min for it to show 67/67 with Heat still on the whole time (not Aux). Interestingly enough the digital thermometer I placed right next to the t-stat showed 68.4 before, during and after the inside 1 degree t-stat drop.

    I think tonight I am going to take off the drop and just keep it at 68 all night and see what happens in the morning.

    Are the residential ClimateMaster t-stats available directly to homeowners? Is the general consensus that they are good units?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    You won't like that 9 setting on the aux or emergency heat.
    Why is that?

    Every since we started using the Honeywell stats, Aux heat has been a problem. I did a lot of complaining to Honeywell and got NOWHERE. When Enertech Mfg.(GeoComfort and Hydron Module) got involved with Honeywell and began to use their stats, I started pestering them about it. You know what rolls down hill... Enertech and Honeywell got together on the problem and came back with the posted recommendations.

    Bergy

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    You won't like that 9 setting on the aux or emergency heat.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bergy View Post
    Why is that?
    Yes, would be good to get some info on why you think the 9 is not an optimal setting. Thanks!

    Actually, I just pulled (not changed) my settings on my t-stat and here are my results:
    120: 20
    130: 10
    140: 1
    150: 5
    160: 4
    170: 12
    190: 0
    200: 0
    220: 3
    230: 3
    260: 9
    270: 9
    280: 0
    300: 0
    320: 0
    330: 1
    340: 0
    500: 0
    510: 0
    520: 0
    530: 1
    540: 1
    580: 5
    600: 90
    610: 50
    640: 12
    650: 0
    660: 0
    670: 0
    680: 2
    690: 2
    700: 0
    710: 0

    I was already at 9 for 260 and 270. 160, 220 and 230 are different than recommended though.
    Last edited by JoeGen; 01-05-2010 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Updated Info

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,603
    3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off, 3.25 min on, 3.35 min off.

    In emergency heat, you hear it cycling on and off along with the blower if you don't run your blower 24/7.
    If you have a VS blower and run it 24/7 you will probably notice the blower going to a higher speed and then back down to a low speed all the time.
    Becomes very annoying.

    In aux heat. If your HP isn't keeping up, and is discharging 85° air. You'll get 100°(10KW at 2000CFM) for 3.25 minutes and then back down to 85° air for 3.25 minutes.
    9 times an hour.

    Not very comfortable.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    121
    What? While I'm no expert on CPH I do know that as long as there is a call for strip heat, the unit runs. I have NEVER heard, or seen, a unit that runs 3 off 3 during a single call for heat.

    Bergy

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,603
    Go to a unit with the emergency heat set to 3 CPH. Set the stat to emergency heat. If its near the equipments 50% load range. It will cycle as I said.

    Seen it several times on units set to 9 CPH.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    So last night, I did no step down in the heat. Was checking it until about 11pm last night and it was always just 68/68 with "Heat On", no Aux. Woke up this morning about 6:30am and checked, "Heat On", no Aux. Climb back into bed to get a few more winks before I had to get up, and I hear the Aux come on. Go to the t-stat and sure enough it says "Heat On Aux", t-stat is showing 68/68.

    I climb into bed and listen, and I hear the Aux going on and off alternately. Quick looks at the clock seem to comfirm BeenThere's post, it was about every 3 minutes for several cycles.

    To be sure, I go in to time them with a stopwatch, but I did not get a pure 3 on 3 off cycle. Aux Heat seem to be on for about 3 min usually, but it was longer between off cycles. It seemed more random than anything (just did a 12 min off cycle then a 1:45 min on cycle). I will take better measurements tomorrow when I have more time in the morning to just stand in front of my t-stat.

    Remember, I haven't changed any settings on the t-stat yet, they are all as listed in the post below. Not liking that aux heat is coming on when the t-stat constantly shows 68/68.

    Thoughts?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St. Peters, MO
    Posts
    6

    Thumbs up GeoComfort Honeywell and now Emerson stats

    Quote Originally Posted by Bergy View Post
    Why is that?

    Every since we started using the Honeywell stats, Aux heat has been a problem. I did a lot of complaining to Honeywell and got NOWHERE. When Enertech Mfg.(GeoComfort and Hydron Module) got involved with Honeywell and began to use their stats, I started pestering them about it. You know what rolls down hill... Enertech and Honeywell got together on the problem and came back with the posted recommendations.

    Bergy
    Stating in 2010 you will see Enertech moving to "Big Blue" Thermostat they will still have the Honeywell Stat. In the new 2010 price book you will see, White-rodgers "Big Blue" ATGNE32A works very well I have one in my house and I like it. ask your TM about it.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    121

    Big Blue

    We got the information about that at last years dealer meeting. I've never been impressed with the Honeywell stat used for Geo. They are VERY slow to respond to market needs so it appears as if White Rodgers is stepping up to the plate. As I posted before, Enertech and Honeywell can up with the recommended stat settings. We set them up that way and have not had the complaints about too much run time on aux heat .

    Bergy

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,603
    The CPH is only accurate at 50% load.
    Since you were having a long off cycle. You weren't at 50% of your equipments load(heat pump plus aux ability).

    Changing to a lower CPH for aux heat probably would have either satisfied the stats call for heat. Or got it to go to fist stage heat pumps.

    If you switched to emergency heat. it would have had shorter off cycles.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13
    So what would be the best value then for 260 and 270? Would changing 220 and 230 from 3 to 1 by itself make a difference? Or setting 680 down a step to 2 or 1? What should be the order of things I change to test or should I do them all at once?

    The settings that were suggested were:

    #160 schedule options... Set this to "0" nonprogrammable

    #220 1st stage compressor... Set this to "1" CPH

    #230 2nd stage compressor... Set this to "1" CPH

    #260 Aux heat... Set this to "9" CPH

    #270 Emergency heat... Set this to "9" CPH

    #680 Temperature control in heat... Set this to "1" Least aggressive
    The least aggressive setting will allow the heat pump to run longer before aux heat is engaged.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,603
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeGen View Post
    So what would be the best value then for 260 and 270? Would changing 220 and 230 from 3 to 1 by itself make a difference? Or setting 680 down a step to 2 or 1? What should be the order of things I change to test or should I do them all at once?

    The settings that were suggested were:

    #160 schedule options... Set this to "0" nonprogrammable 0

    #220 1st stage compressor... Set this to "1" CPH 3

    #230 2nd stage compressor... Set this to "1" CPH 2

    #260 Aux heat... Set this to "9" CPH 3

    #270 Emergency heat... Set this to "9" CPH 3

    #680 Temperature control in heat... Set this to "1" Least aggressive
    The least aggressive setting will allow the heat pump to run longer before aux heat is engaged.
    1 Is fine for aggression setting.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event