Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    2,222

    Run Cap Bandit Visits Ohio

    RCB was here, changing a condenser fan motor on a York. He couldn't figure out that pesky three wire fan motor wiring so he jimmied it but good. At the bottom of the pic, under the compressor, is a live 120V wire (one leg of the 220) with just tape over it (no nut, and shouldn't have been disconnected anyway):



    I re-wired it back to factory and relocated the run cap to it's correct place in the control box. I also straightened out the 220V wires and remounted them to the suction rather than the discharge line. (See other thread "Mounting Straps and Ties are for Suckers")

    Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Florida City
    Posts
    15
    Some people are just lazy, it takes less time to do a job right...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    West L.a
    Posts
    93
    You have to know how to do the job right, before you can do it in less time.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Posts
    7
    I'm surprised he didn't attached the box the cap came in

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Avon Park, Florida
    Posts
    6
    Capacitor in the box just sends me over the edge!!! I see that crap all the time and other techs say Im too picky but I just believe in doing it right it makes my job easier later on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    523
    I am the RCB muahaha. And Yes! I have no idea what I'm doing!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Wayne Indiana
    Posts
    46

    careful with strapping wire

    you can get into trouble strapping wires to the copper. Copper is vibrating, wears hole in insulation of wire, dead short. Seen this happen on units from the factory too. I never strap wires to the copper.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monmouth Junction-NJ-USA
    Posts
    6,002
    Quote Originally Posted by bribone View Post
    you can get into trouble strapping wires to the copper. Copper is vibrating, wears hole in insulation of wire, dead short. Seen this happen on units from the factory too. I never strap wires to the copper.
    For sure. Had to fix more than one where the wire chaffed and shorted to the copper line making one helluva mess.
    If you really know how it works, you have an execellent chance of fixin' er up!

    Tomorrow is promised to no one...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    523
    Quote Originally Posted by bribone View Post
    you can get into trouble strapping wires to the copper. Copper is vibrating, wears hole in insulation of wire, dead short. Seen this happen on units from the factory too. I never strap wires to the copper.
    Wires have to be strapped tight to the suction line of a compressor or they will rub if left loose eventually short. You'll find this info from copeland in there tech data on replacements...

    Think about it, every single Lennox unit has the compressor wires TIGHTLY zipped tied to the suction line. Carrier units with the big door on one side are the same way (dont know the model number). When have you replaced any compressor and not had to cut the tie for the compressor wires when replacing a compressor to keep from melting them?

    I just walked outside to verify what I was thinking. I went to all the neighbors units (condos) because theres are easy to see. So I took a pic..



    Sorry its in black and white I was taking a pic for my avatar and forgot to turn it off. Anyway thats a factory zip tie. I dont doubt you have seen one of these short but we are talking probably a million plus units pretty much everything with a Copeland compressor is like this from the factory...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    64
    "Well dangit! Someone's been here! I told 'em it was only temporary, 'til I got back from Wal-Mart! What am I gonna do with this Tupperware box?"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    and white zip tye's aren't UV resistant. so stick with the black one's
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    Pardon my ignorance but what is the loop in the liquid line for? Oil return? Is it factory?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by mattm View Post
    Pardon my ignorance but what is the loop in the liquid line for? Oil return? Is it factory?
    Sound dampening. That's the gas discharge line. "MAY BE FACTORY OR FIELD-INSTALLED".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event