Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    103

    Jace as a AHU conroller

    Thanks in advance for any opinions. Still new to the AX product.
    Are many people using a Jace with I/O as a stand alone AHU controller.
    Have a job oprtunity that requires custom AHU's with a lot of downstream zone control (not VAV). Site would have numerous similar setups, with Jace's
    networked together.
    Thanks again
    b-man

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,140
    Wow! That sounds like an expensive AHU controller. Why would you want to use a Jace as a stand-alone controller when there will be several other Jaces on the same project? Do you have access to any other control lines?
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    StL, MO
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by b-man View Post
    ...Are many people using a Jace with I/O as a stand alone AHU controller...
    b-man
    I would venture to say "No." Not that it isn't technically possible, but, as dapper states, pretty expensive.
    UA LU 562

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,218
    b-man is probably talking about a jace2, and with expansion i/o, price per point is pretty unbeatable. I think if he has a high number of zones, it makes sense.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near Philly
    Posts
    511
    I've seen it done. Two items really popped out. The wire sheet was incredibly ugly, and no local display. I priced a similar situation, the hardware point cost was nearly identical as opposed to a standard field controller with expansion modules. The programming time will be high, every little step is custom.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by dapper View Post
    Wow! That sounds like an expensive AHU controller. Why would you want to use a Jace as a stand-alone controller when there will be several other Jaces on the same project? Do you have access to any other control lines?
    Which standalone controller can provide custom programming, web interface with graphics, e-mail alarms, collect and store trend data, and do it cheaper than a Jace 2 with a 16 I/O?
    There's a lot to know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by mechdorn View Post
    I've seen it done. Two items really popped out. The wire sheet was incredibly ugly, and no local display. I priced a similar situation, the hardware point cost was nearly identical as opposed to a standard field controller with expansion modules. The programming time will be high, every little step is custom.
    Wire sheets are only as ugly or pretty as the programmer. The customer should never see them anyway. Use the kitPxHvac pallatte. And for a couple hundred bucks, you can connect a laptop, so who needs a local display.
    There's a lot to know.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,140
    Sure, if you had one as a stand-alone on a project.

    Why, have multiple Jaces when you only need one Jace 6 to handle the web interface, graphics, alarms and trends. I just dont see the advantage to installing a Jace on every piece of equipment in the house.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    161
    Just FYI Tridium Europe sells Vykon HVAC system: a Jace, which controls AHUs, cooling/heating plants etc through inexpensive Modbus IO. All programming and configuration is done with wizards (no real programming) VERY quick and simply.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    227
    Quote Originally Posted by mechdorn View Post
    I've seen it done. Two items really popped out. The wire sheet was incredibly ugly, and no local display. I priced a similar situation, the hardware point cost was nearly identical as opposed to a standard field controller with expansion modules. The programming time will be high, every little step is custom.
    I use them all the time for retro fits, just replaced (11) 8x8 Staefa with 4 Jace20s (Lynxspring's PC-1000). I Also use them for boiler and chiller plants. NO issues what so ever. If you have tons of logic then make sure you use a 60.
    I have analyzed price per point and I am very competitive
    Intelli-Building = Less Stress, commissioned with diligence!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    227
    Quote Originally Posted by mechdorn View Post
    I've seen it done. Two items really popped out. The wire sheet was incredibly ugly, and no local display. I priced a similar situation, the hardware point cost was nearly identical as opposed to a standard field controller with expansion modules. The programming time will be high, every little step is custom.
    1-Ugly wire sheet is result of sloppy programming.
    2-I can program faster in a Jace than any other environment, except basic. Utilizing saved .bogs, cut paste, custom program objects, and search and replace. The secret to ANY programming is BUILD LIBRARY'S of code or objects, re-use,re-use, re-use.
    3-Don't know where u buy your Jaces but my price per point smokes!
    4-I have a Jace display I use all the time! Remove cover, add option card, plug in display, snap on new LCD cover presto done! (Well add the lcd extensions first)
    Intelli-Building = Less Stress, commissioned with diligence!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    227
    Quote Originally Posted by shylock View Post
    Just FYI Tridium Europe sells Vykon HVAC system: a Jace, which controls AHUs, cooling/heating plants etc through inexpensive Modbus IO. All programming and configuration is done with wizards (no real programming) VERY quick and simply.
    Are you referring to the white Jaces? I saw a cut sheet. Looked interesting. Are they going to market those in US also... Ouchh if they do.
    Intelli-Building = Less Stress, commissioned with diligence!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    103

    Jace as a AHU controller

    Thanks for all the input!
    The zones could add up to 75-100 points (I/O) plus the points of the AHU.
    Customer must have access to the programming tool. This solution would not only allow them access to programming of the AHU/zones, but be able to use the same software platform for graphics, trending and alarming.
    Each AHU must be standalone controller, in case of a crash, no other AHUs will go down, "Critical Areas".
    Cost is always an issue, but in this case reliability and expandability are the main issue.
    b-man

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image