Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    philadelphia pa
    Posts
    171

    reach-in lite problem

    This may be a stupid question but, working on a reach-in today, no lites so I replaced the bulbs, still no lite. So I replaced the ballasts, still no lite. PLEASE LET THERE BE LITE!! Is there any way to check the ballasts and or tubes? 120 volts present at the ballast. I tried to check voltage at the socket, top and bottom =0 volts any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    653
    are the door switch contacts working properly?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    S.C.
    Posts
    931
    I'm wondering if there is anything else in the circuit. Like a little miniature aluminum can looking gadget? I think its a starter if I remember correctly. (or something like that)
    It's refreshing to pull your head out of the box when servicing a system.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,690
    Quote Originally Posted by oldtimer2 View Post
    This may be a stupid question but, working on a reach-in today, no lites so I replaced the bulbs, still no lite. So I replaced the ballasts, still no lite. PLEASE LET THERE BE LITE!! Is there any way to check the ballasts and or tubes? 120 volts present at the ballast. I tried to check voltage at the socket, top and bottom =0 volts any ideas?
    I look for dark spots at the ends of the tubes.

    Also use a NCV tester to check for potential at the lamp ends.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,749
    Some units have a thermostat running the lights
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    philadelphia pa
    Posts
    171
    I didn't see a door switch
    4 door reach-in, the lites on the left side are working
    on the ballast, should I be able to read potential at the leads? 4leads for each lite

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,749
    I've had bad connections/loose wires at the bulb sockets before that will drive ya nutz like this.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    492
    You have to also watch the bulb output HO or VHO ???? One works in the cold and one doesn't.
    And what the others said about the starter. Unless they are electronic. Somedays you need 20 new starters find one good one. Watch for new duds in the starter area.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    Quote Originally Posted by oldtimer2 View Post
    This may be a stupid question but, working on a reach-in today, no lites so I replaced the bulbs, still no lite. So I replaced the ballasts, still no lite. PLEASE LET THERE BE LITE!! Is there any way to check the ballasts and or tubes? 120 volts present at the ballast. I tried to check voltage at the socket, top and bottom =0 volts any ideas?
    The only thing left besides the starters are the lamp sockets, the "tombstones."
    Also make sure the index mark on the tube ends shows that the tube is fully rotated into the socket correctly.
    On tubes with two pins on the end, there should be a few volts across the pins to heat the filament.
    Also, some lamps don't start reliably unless the metal Ground Plane (the metal case) near the tube is grounded.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NorthWest
    Posts
    147
    Some reachins have the door switches in the door hinge.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    492
    I checked today. You still can buy a *wand* from any bulb supply house to check output.
    I have one, but haven't used it for decades. I got snagged up on VO and HVO BULBS once and it drove me nuts. The wand didn't help with that VHO issue.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    Quote Originally Posted by deux View Post
    I checked today. You still can buy a *wand* from any bulb supply house to check output.
    I have one, but haven't used it for decades. I got snagged up on VO and HVO BULBS once and it drove me nuts. The wand didn't help with that VHO issue.
    I think these non-contact testers trade convenience for False Positive or non-repeatable readings. And almost all contact voltmeters respond to Phantom Voltages.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Connectitaxed
    Posts
    2,644
    Quote Originally Posted by thethomas4 View Post
    Some reachins have the door switches in the door hinge.
    If this is a Traulsen that is an issue. make and model of unit and the answer will be easier to figure out. ballasts can be a pain to understand even for an electrician.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event