Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260

    Rotery Phase Converter I made

    Made up a small rotary phase converter for fun and games, and it actually works quite well! I used a WYE motor, as I couldn't find a delta one for cheap. Used a kickstart kit for start up, and added run caps to help tame the wild leg a bit. The little fan was just laying around so I put it in there to keep it all cool in the summer. We have it running a shear with a 3 HP motor.

    here are links to pics:

    http://s896.photobucket.com/albums/a...cture004-1.jpg

    http://s896.photobucket.com/albums/a...cture003-1.jpg

    http://s896.photobucket.com/albums/a...cture002-1.jpg
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    7,414
    Looks pretty sweet. I've got an old 10 horse.. or is it 20 horse... anyway I've got a big old motor laying around I've been meaning to do that to for my lathe (and some day future 3 phase machinist goods).

    What are you going to run off it? or was it just one of those projects you did because you could?
    "If you call that hard work, a koala’s life would look heroic."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    Running a old 8 foot sheer. We had one of the solid state converters hooked up to it but it made the 3HP motor run hot and had a hard time starting(sheer has a large flywheel). With this new converter it runs nice and cool, and starts just fine so far in a cold shop, we will see how it does when it gets realy cold out and the grease is all stiff. But yea it was mostly just to see if I could pull it off. Next one though I will not use the Kick start, as it tries to keep in the loop untill you throw a load on it. I will use a relay and a timer next time to drop out the start cap.
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Frognot TX
    Posts
    836
    I've got two phase converters, one rotorary and a digital, that was made in Amick's stomping grounds, its a Phase Perfect, it is a hell of a good unit but it was about $10,000, but it puts out perfect three phase.

    The rotary i built from a used 20 Hp 3 ph motor about 15 yrs ago, I just use a 1 hp to get it up to speed and turn it on, then shut off the 1 hp mtr and it free wheels, I've never put on any capaciters though I know it would put out a cleaner third leg.

    I was talking to an old electrical engineer that said they used to use something like the rotary one I built in the old days on the transmission lines as a "ballast motor" to make the 3 phase better.

    I have been using it regularly for 15 years, I run my Axleson engine lathe with it, it has a 10 HP motor on it no problems except if I try to run the lathe when it real cold in high speed before the oil gets warmed up, it takes all the power I can give it, but it's starting a bunch of weight at high RPM's

    Yours looks prettier than mine does though, but they will work fine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Highland Il.
    Posts
    168
    My cousin and I have a saw mill we made one up with a 30hp. we are currently running 2 25hp. motor off of it, for the edger & conveyor with plans on replacing gas engine on mill with another 25, looking for a big old planer also.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Wheelbaron View Post
    Used a kickstart kit for start up, and added run caps to help tame the wild leg a bit.
    Kickstart? sounds mighty fancy to me

    The only rotary phase converter I've ever seen had a pullstart. The farmer that owned/built it had a rope and handle from a lawnmower. You wrapped the rope around the shaft, gave it a quick pull and while the motor was still coasting you turned on the power.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    Well like I said the kick start don't work so well, but I had it and the supply house didn't have a 400mfd start cap in stock at 440volt. But next time I would use a start cap and relay with a adjustable timer to drop it out.

    I did see the deal with a pull start listed, but some of the guys at the shop could get hurt using fancy technology like that

    Also on the next one I want to add a small flywheel so we can use it with multiple units, or reversing motors without any worry of reversing phase.
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event