Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question outdoor condensing fan

I can run my air conditioner for 5 to 10 minutes before the outdoor condensing fan motor makes a noise, stops turning, and then I get no cool air. The motor is also hot to the touch. The unit is 10 years old, and just before this happened it was making an "uggh" noise when it ran, and seemed louder than it should be. Can anyone tell me what the problem is, and how much I might be looking at for a repair????

I had a tech tell me last year that the capacitor was drawing too many amps. He was a shady looking dude, and tried to tell me he could swap it out for $. That seemed like way too much,and the air ran fine for another whole summer without a new capacitor. I looked at the capacitor a few days ago and it appeared to look normal, not swollen or misshapen. I'm an aircraft mechanic, and can probably fix this with the right guidance. Anybody wanna help?
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-06-2009 at 05:11 PM. Reason: Removed price

Questions and discussions pertaining to HVAC for the home. No pricing, no DIY, Thank You.

Please read Site Rules Thank you.

Call a different HVAC company if you didn't like the other tech.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

how bout some mercy here

Ok moderator, my bad, so don't tell me how much, and don't tell me how to do it,,, just point me in the right direction. I'm not calling another company, because I'm laid off and broke. Somebody show me some mercy, and tell me what you think is probably happening, and I'll do the rest. I'm not trying to take anyone's job at A/C repair, I'm just trying to get my unit going with little or no money to do it with. I live in Phoenix, where it's still pretty doggone warm.
    my email is <email addresses aren't allowed in post either>
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-06-2009 at 06:29 PM. Reason: Removed email address